Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder

Average Customer Rating:
4.086 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
29 of 35(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
So far, so good!
Date:October 22, 2014
Written By:Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Warranty, Secure Cut Size
"We have gone through 2 shredders in the past while as we were going through papers, preparing to sell our house. the gears are nylon and even though we have been very careful not to run the machine too long and not put in staples or too many papers, the gears have shirred. So far my husband finds that this shredder seems stronger and he is encouraged!"
Review 2 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
not jam resistant
Date:October 18, 2014
Written By:4plus10plus4
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style & Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction
Cons: Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
"In less then 50 days the unit has stopped working. It could possibly be jammed, but there is no way to unjam it since there is no way to turn the unit on without feeding paper to shred. Feeding something to shred just does not work. so there is no way to test the unit."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 20, 2014
Please contact our Customer Service department at your earliest convenience; we would like to be able to help you through this issue as it is not common and should not be occurring with your machine. Our Customer Service department can be reached at (800) 945-4545. You may be asked to provide proof of purchase so please make sure that you have this information available upon calling. Thank you for choosing Fellowes; we look forward to being able to assist you.
Review 3 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Three uses and is now dead.
Date:September 6, 2014
Written By:Dave3
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style & Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: Warranty, quality
"Will not shred after 3 uses. If I manually move the blades a little I might be able to get it to work, but once the blades stop it won't turn back on."
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 8, 2014
Hello Dave3,

We are very sorry to hear about your poor experience with your W10C shredder. You should not have encountered such problems, and we would like to work with you in order to remedy this issue. Troubleshooting can be accomplished quickly and efficiently with our Customer Service team, which can be reached by phone at (800) 945-4545. Please give them a call at your earliest convenience while you are with your shredder. Your machine could be fixed with something as simple as an interlocking switch realignment. We really do value your feedback, thank you for submitting your review.


Warm regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Show (1) comment +
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dave3
It is better now
Posted September 8, 2014
Was not making good contact with the safety switch. Wish I could change my star rating to 4 stars, I cannot give it 5 stars because of the low tolerance of the safety switch engagement mechanism. Other than that is is a very good shredder.
Comments (1)
Show (1) comment +
Review 4 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
GREAT SHREDDER, FAST, EXACT, AND NO JAMS!!!!
Date:September 6, 2014
Written By:Hutchie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: none
"WE HAVE HAD SHREDDERS IN PAST, HOWEVER AFTER BUYING THIS SHREDDER WHICH IS A HIGHER QUALITY SHREDDER, WE HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 8, 2014
Hi Hutchie,

We appreciate your 5-star review! Thank you for choosing Fellowes.

Best regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 5 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Dependable and Efficient
Date:August 8, 2014
Written By:Pixie519
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Jam Resistance
Cons: Secure Cut Size, Quiet Operation
"This is a very good shredder for the money. The basket design allows you to monitor the paper level so that it can be emptied when full. The handle makes it easy to remove and replace the shredding unit from the basket, though it does get a bit messy with shredding remnants on the floor. Would highly recommend for personal home use!"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 8, 2014
Pixie,

We are so happy that you are happy! Thank you for taking the time to review your reacent purchase.

Warm regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 6 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
No more fretting over shredding!
Date:July 25, 2014
Written By:Jondajo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"Very happy with my Fellowes shredder! It is easy to use and I can count on my privacy and the privacy of my customers being protected. It is powerful and I never have to worry about a jam."
Review 7 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
very good product
Date:June 4, 2014
Written By:texasstrong
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: doesn't move easily
"I would give this product a perfect score if the bin had wheels on it. It is much easier to position it for a variety of shredding jobs when it can be rolled. I do like the lift handle as it makes it very easy to empty the bin."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
nice
Date:May 4, 2014
Written By:GGGG
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size
"I bought this to replace another type shredder and really like the power on it, cuts nice"
Review 9 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Heavy Duty Shredder
Date:May 3, 2014
Written By:is2cu
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation
"Impressed with it's performance. Able to handle multiple sheets of paper with no problem. Wished the holding bin was bigger and the machine a little quieter. For the money it is worth it. Would purchase again if needed too."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Healthcare
Review 10 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Best shreder ever!
Date:April 29, 2014
Written By:upurs
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"Unit shreds up to 5 pages at a time for the five minute use maximum, before having to cool down for required 20 minutes. as long as you follow oiling instruction for unit. I shredded a 13gal trash bagful with only 1 cool down period involved."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 11 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Small shredder on steroids
Date:April 25, 2014
Written By:BigBtrains
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, easily fits under the desk.
Cons: Quiet Operation, a wee bit noisey
"I was looking to replace a small shredder for my home office, and took a chance on this Fellowes product. I got more than I had hoped and surely more than I paid for. Wow, does it make short work of any job. Just cleared up the personal remains of my Dad's estate and some old financial records I had. THANX for a great product."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 12 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Replacement
Date:March 23, 2014
Written By:jeff01
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"Great product. My wife purchased this as a replacement for my last shredder. This one is great. It will shred more pages than the other and I'm very pleased. A heavy duty machine."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 13 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Durable
Date:March 19, 2014
Written By:Barview
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"I have spent the past three days shreading thirty years worth of save documents. I have had very few issues with this product. The issues I have had are honestly operator error."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 14 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Worlds strongest shredder
Date:January 22, 2014
Written By:EyeCare
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
"This was well worth the price. This shredder is "da bomb" !!"
Review 15 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
stretched out shredder
Date:January 14, 2014
Written By:Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style & Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features
Cons: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance
"we have owned this shredder for not quite a year. It was very good , in the beginning. But , now when we try to use it, It is a 2 person job. I held it up in place, and my fiance' put stuff in to shred. This makes for a job that takes longer to do and frustration level raises. The Shredder itself, I think is too heavy for the basket and after a while stretches out the basket just a bit and the shredder then does not hit the small tab correctly. I think that there needs to be a couple of "ledges" on the basket itself; placed in equal places inside the basket. That way when the running part of the shredder is placed on the basket; there will be 3 or 4 supporting places on the basket. This makes the Shredder weight distributed more evenly and deters the stretching, no matter how minimal it is."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Consumer Services
Review 16 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
W10C shredder
Date:January 4, 2014
Written By:herd
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"Great space saver and can handle many sheets. Well worth the money"
Review 17 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Powershred Shredder
Date:December 31, 2013
Written By:5AD9D4F
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We had a previous paper shredder for about eight years and we thought we had a good one. But when we purchased the Fellowes Powershred, we were so excited about how fine and how fast it shredded the paper. We gave it a good work out as we cleaned out old papers that needed to be destroyed. We also like the amount of paper the bin holds and and the safety lock feature. I would recommend this product to anyone."
Review 18 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good value for the money
Date:December 29, 2013
Written By:Mike77
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"The model W1oc shredder takes care of all my home shredding needs. Shreds with out jamming and is fairly quiet."
Review 19 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
pleased
Date:November 30, 2013
Written By:mugsy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"this is my second shredder from this co & if you don't feed it nickles it will last a long time."
Review 20 for Powershred® W10C Cross-Cut Shredder
W10C Shredder
Date:October 9, 2013
Written By:delsdad
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features
Cons: Quiet Operation
"This shredder is built tough. It is not a lightweight. The fact that you can use it for waste basket with the opening in front and shredder frees up floor space. I like the locking device - grandchildren proof. Hope to have several years of shredding with this machine."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
1 2 next>>