Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder

Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
31 of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Not what it is advertised as
Date:December 2, 2012
Written By:Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
Cons: Quiet Operation
"I purchased this shredder because it was supposed to be very quiet -it's not, and was supposed to shred 7 sheets of paper even though the package says six. The noise and size of shreds is my biggest complaint."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 2 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Not what I expected.
Date:February 3, 2013
Written By:Fluffy
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style & Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: sherds credit cards and staples
Cons: noisier than expected, struggles to shred 6 sheets (max), does not cross cut very well.
"Not sure I am going to like it, the noise levels are high and it seems to struggle to shred the 6 sheets it claims to do. It did mention shredding credit cards and staples in the scanty instruction manual. Over all it seems to be adequate, but not great. Time will tell."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 3 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Loud when running
Date:December 29, 2012
Written By:Wirunner06
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I just received this shredder for Christmas and found it loud when running. The thicker the paper the harder it has to run even with just an envelope. Previous shredders get jammed and this one has not yet. Great for occasional use."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Review 4 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good for small jobs
Date:June 13, 2012
Written By:rosegarden
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: overheats easily
"This shredder works great if you just have a few things to shred. If you're cleaning out old papers, like we were, and need to shred a lot of things, be prepared to do it over a few hours or even days. After about 5 minutes of shredding, the unit overheats. You have to wait 20+ minutes for it to cool down."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Review 5 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
overall fairly decent product
Date:April 12, 2014
Written By:mallory
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features
Cons: Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
"seems to jam up at times, but it takes the frustration out of ripping up important documents yourself."
Review 6 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
First Shredder and Loving It
Date:February 10, 2014
Written By:Jake202
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"While walking the down supermarket aisle. I didn't find myself in need of a paper shredder. But reading the content of the box and checking my iphone for product review, there were a lot of great things raved about this product. So, I purchased one, brought it back, set-up was super easy, plug and chug. Less than a minutes, I'm shredding paper. Please read instructions before starting, as the manual says, 6 paper per shredding, medium usage for my household and perfect!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 7 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
First paper shredder purchase, pleased so far
Date:January 26, 2014
Written By:RodinRochester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
"We just purchased our first paper shredder today. The Fellowes Powershred W-6C. Set up and use was simple. The one thing that sounds strange to me was that the unit needs to be oiled ... with vegetable oil! Remember, I said this is our first shredder purchase! So I did oil it, twice during an operating session that spanned about 45 minutes. The unit did appear to jam after the second oiling. I think because I used too much. And the paper shreds got soggy with oil. Cleared the jam and it continued operating. May not oil as frequently as suggested."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Review 8 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great product.
Date:January 22, 2014
Written By:jlr12
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
"Reasonable price compared to other models. Good performance and nice look."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 9 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
So far so good
Date:January 9, 2014
Written By:winwin
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
"I was impressed by the smoothness and quickness of the shredding. Only thing I don't like is the price, height, and mouth. I wish the mouth was little wider, i wish it holds more shredded paper inside, and the price was too expensive."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 10 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
tryme43123
Date:November 24, 2013
Written By:tryme43123
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction
"Unit is a fair purchase. The basket is extremely small, being compact makes it difficult to remove the cutting head. The cutting head fails to completely clean itself. It is a bit noisy for home use. Fellowes has a good name, but not such a good warranty."
Review 11 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
durable shredder
Date:March 9, 2013
Written By:roadrunner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"i recently purchased a new fellows shredder. i am very satisfied
with it and would recommend it to anyone needing a safe and reliable shredder for their home or home office.
"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 12 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review
Date:December 25, 2012
Written By:Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Quiet Operation
"This product was a big help for me. It was easy to do and operate."
Review 13 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
second time around
Date:April 14, 2014
Written By:littlejoe58
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
"Had one given to me 3 yrs ago went to use it nothing happen. Went purchase one, got home to plug the new one up and found the other one wasn't plug in all the way. So now I'll take the old one and put it in my daughters study for her."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 14 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Office Shredder
Date:April 13, 2014
Written By:Al45
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"Owned a Fellowes Shredder for 12 years and was very happy with it. It finally gave up the other day after a major shredding project. Felt if that model could last 12 years, wanted to buy another one. Really like the quiet, power, window and cross cut of this one."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Healthcare
Review 15 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
The Truth
Date:April 3, 2014
Written By:Orangegirl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Warranty, Service Guarantee
"This shredder is one of the best for the money. The size and weight which can be moved, yet cannot be knocked over. The quality with quietness I can shred my credit cards w/out worrying about anyone attempting to paste them together."
Review 16 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
BEST SHREDDER EVER
Date:March 16, 2014
Written By:Netta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Jam Resistance
"This I purchased as a replacement...Wow I couldn't be more happy. Love the product and well built!"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Consumer Services
Review 17 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
My Fellowes Products
Date:March 4, 2014
Written By:NevadaLady7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Mess Reduction
"I am on the bandwagon for Fellowes. I recently had to replace a Fellowes Shredder from the dark ages. After over 10 years of service my regular (not cross-cut) shredder finally gave up and blew a gear. I cannot tell you how many papers that thing shredded, but it was a lot. I replaced it with a W-6C cross cut shredder and the difference is like night and day. The W-6C is quieter and more efficient, and it doesn't weigh half as much as the old. My only problem is it is a little smaller than the old one so I have to empty it more. LOL! Stick with Fellowes and you can't go wrong."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 18 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Perfect Home Shredder
Date:February 2, 2014
Written By:okona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"There are three Fellowes Shredders were I work and they have performed jam free for the three years I have been employed there. This shredder has a small footprint but has handled everything I've put in. It is much quieter than my previous Techko shredder. I expect to have this machine for many years."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 19 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Little machine packs a punch
Date:January 28, 2014
Written By:stinkbug
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction
"We were looking for a shredder that would not make the paper into spaghetti but does the complete shred into tiny pieces. We did not want a big machine but not a small one either. We found it in this product! It fits nicely under the desk and boy does it shred. Thank you"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 20 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
shedder
Date:January 21, 2014
Written By:Grampa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"This the first crosscut shedder I have owned . Compared to a straight cut it is impossible read what you have shedded. It runs very quiet and is durability. I would recommend this unit to anyone not only because of it's operation but it's size it will fit in about any space."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
1 2 next>>