Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder

Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
46 of 50(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Jammed!!
Date:June 17, 2014
Written By:Disappointed2000
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: large bin
Cons: Jam Resistance
"Shredded approximately 50 sheets imediately upon set-up. Then emptyed and oiled as directed.Wham-o! Major jam!! Website seems to be blocking my negative review, but I will persist!"
Response from Fellowes:By Melissa HauserreviewsJune 27, 2014
Disappointed2000 have you contacted our Customer Service about your shredder jamming issues? They can be reached at 1-800-955-0959 and will assist you.

Review 2 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Not what it is advertised as
Date:December 2, 2012
Written By:Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
Cons: Quiet Operation
"I purchased this shredder because it was supposed to be very quiet -it's not, and was supposed to shred 7 sheets of paper even though the package says six. The noise and size of shreds is my biggest complaint."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 3 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Home shredder replacement
Date:April 30, 2014
Written By:4591
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features
Cons: Mess Reduction
"Replaced previous home shredder with Fellowes W-6C. For the price paid I hope that it will continue to work for awhile. Noticed in the manual that it suggests oiling the cutter blades, this is something that I did not do with my previous shredder. It seems to go through single sheet shredding very quickly. Could not get it to operate and then found that the cutter was not sitting completely on the catch bin - good safety feature. When emptying bin, bits of paper in the cutter tend to fall onto the floor when it is off the bin."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Review 4 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Date:April 20, 2014
Written By:skippy2
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Warranty, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"NOT NEAR AS DURABLE AS OTHER SHREDDERS I HAVD HAVE OWNED FOR THE PRICED"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 5 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Not what I expected.
Date:February 3, 2013
Written By:Fluffy
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style & Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: sherds credit cards and staples
Cons: noisier than expected, struggles to shred 6 sheets (max), does not cross cut very well.
"Not sure I am going to like it, the noise levels are high and it seems to struggle to shred the 6 sheets it claims to do. It did mention shredding credit cards and staples in the scanty instruction manual. Over all it seems to be adequate, but not great. Time will tell."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 6 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Loud when running
Date:December 29, 2012
Written By:Wirunner06
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I just received this shredder for Christmas and found it loud when running. The thicker the paper the harder it has to run even with just an envelope. Previous shredders get jammed and this one has not yet. Great for occasional use."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Review 7 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good for small jobs
Date:June 13, 2012
Written By:rosegarden
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: overheats easily
"This shredder works great if you just have a few things to shred. If you're cleaning out old papers, like we were, and need to shred a lot of things, be prepared to do it over a few hours or even days. After about 5 minutes of shredding, the unit overheats. You have to wait 20+ minutes for it to cool down."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Review 8 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
good so far
Date:September 24, 2014
Written By:mandy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased this shredder but so far it's perfect. No problems at all."
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 24, 2014
Hello Mandy,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review on your new W-6C shredder! We love hearing from our customers, and appreciate your input.

Warm regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 9 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good for the Price
Date:August 27, 2014
Written By:Zaranephi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Safety Features, light weight
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction, Secure Cut Size, too small a bin
"I have mixed feelings about this shredder, however, leaning more toward good. The shredder is well constructed plastic and quieter than most. It is also light weight which allows for easier removal of the top to empty the bin. On the less than enthusiastic side, I would like to see a larger bin (had to empty 8 times yesterday). The shredder struggled to shred 3 pieces of regular computer printer paper (20 lb weight I believe). Within 10 minutes the machine jammed twice. Issue determined to be inserting the paper in at an angle creating bunching in the end of the machine. Noticed the cross cut was frequently creating a length of 6 to 8 inches in length (outside the parameters given by Fellowes). Liked that the shredder shut down before overheating the motor. Overall a good product for the price."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 28, 2014
Dear Zaranephi,

Thank you for your review of our W-6C shredder! It is good to hear that you were able to troubleshoot some on your own. It is interesting that your cut sizes are between 6-8 inches and this should not be the case. If this remains a common occurrence, I would recommend contacting our Customer Service department, as this may be a cutter issue. Your shreds should be closer to 5/32” x 1 ½”. Customer Service can be reached by phone at (800) 945-4545.

Kind Regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 10 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Meets Expectations
Date:July 2, 2014
Written By:BobG
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Mess Reduction
Cons: Sheet Capacity
"The shredder seems to be durable enough and feeds easily."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 11 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
So Far, So Good
Date:June 19, 2014
Written By:nv88s
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction
Cons: Jam Resistance
"I have had this shredder for a little over a week. It has jammed on me once already, however I am hopeful. It appears to be strong and heavyweight and I like the design. I suppose time will tell about its longevity. It is a lot better than the previous model from Fellowes I had purchased a couple of years back. So Far, So Good...... Jonny"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By Melissa HauserreviewsJune 27, 2014
nv88s Thank you for your review of the Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder. It is important to us that your shredder works correctly! If you experience any more jamming issues please contact our Customer Service at 1-800-955-0959.
Review 12 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
CRC34081 6 sheet shredder
Date:June 15, 2014
Written By:elizchef
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: Jam Resistance
"I was a little disappointed because I have a rabbit and did 2 sheets of newspaper and it almost broke on a first time use!"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Healthcare
Response from Fellowes:By Melissa HauserreviewsJune 19, 2014
elizchef Thank you for your review of the Powershred W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder. Can you give a bit more detail on the "almost broke?" Please call our Customer Service if you experience issues with your shredder. They can be reach at 1-800-955-0959.
Review 13 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Product
Date:May 23, 2014
Written By:CDorrough
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Sheet Capacity
"We just bought a 12 page shredder at Sam's Club. It burnt after a couple of pages... I decided to buy a cheaper one, and Im glad and surprised with the W-6C. Easy to use, resistant and no noise at all. Also, the fact it does not over-heat is awesome!"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 14 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
new Fellowes Shredder
Date:April 19, 2014
Written By:Threecatsanadog
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"Had to replace my old Fellowes shredders as I jammed it up one to many times and broke it trying to un-jam it. Bought this new one, very similar model but much more light weight and receptacle is not tapered so will hold more shredded paper."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 15 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
overall fairly decent product
Date:April 12, 2014
Written By:mallory
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features
Cons: Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
"seems to jam up at times, but it takes the frustration out of ripping up important documents yourself."
Review 16 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
First Shredder and Loving It
Date:February 10, 2014
Written By:Jake202
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"While walking the down supermarket aisle. I didn't find myself in need of a paper shredder. But reading the content of the box and checking my iphone for product review, there were a lot of great things raved about this product. So, I purchased one, brought it back, set-up was super easy, plug and chug. Less than a minutes, I'm shredding paper. Please read instructions before starting, as the manual says, 6 paper per shredding, medium usage for my household and perfect!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 17 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
First paper shredder purchase, pleased so far
Date:January 26, 2014
Written By:RodinRochester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
"We just purchased our first paper shredder today. The Fellowes Powershred W-6C. Set up and use was simple. The one thing that sounds strange to me was that the unit needs to be oiled ... with vegetable oil! Remember, I said this is our first shredder purchase! So I did oil it, twice during an operating session that spanned about 45 minutes. The unit did appear to jam after the second oiling. I think because I used too much. And the paper shreds got soggy with oil. Cleared the jam and it continued operating. May not oil as frequently as suggested."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Review 18 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great product.
Date:January 22, 2014
Written By:jlr12
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
"Reasonable price compared to other models. Good performance and nice look."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 19 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
So far so good
Date:January 9, 2014
Written By:winwin
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
"I was impressed by the smoothness and quickness of the shredding. Only thing I don't like is the price, height, and mouth. I wish the mouth was little wider, i wish it holds more shredded paper inside, and the price was too expensive."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 20 for Powershred® W-6C Cross-Cut Shredder
tryme43123
Date:November 24, 2013
Written By:tryme43123
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction
"Unit is a fair purchase. The basket is extremely small, being compact makes it difficult to remove the cutting head. The cutting head fails to completely clean itself. It is a bit noisy for home use. Fellowes has a good name, but not such a good warranty."
1 2 3 next>>