Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder

Ultimate protection with particles 10 times smaller than standard cross-cut Auto Reverse stops and reverses paper if a jam occurs SafeSense® Technology stops shredding when hands touch the paper opening SilentShred™ offers ultra-quiet performance for shared workspaces Holds over 80% more paper per gallon than standard cross-cut Shreds 7 sheets per pass into 5/64”x 5/16” micro-cut particles (Security Level P-5) Maximum run time: 8-10 on / 15 off 5.5 gallon pull-out bin 22.4”Hx13.75”Wx10.4”D For 1 user
Average Customer Rating:
4.338 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
65 of 77(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
worse purchase ever
Date:November 19, 2012
Written By:Charlotte
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style & Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, Service Guarantee, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, no parts available
"It's absolutely unacceptable that after 3 years of use (residential, not continues, perhaps 30 minutes a week) one of the drive gears broke and there are no parts available.
Why would somebody buy another Fellowes product, if they are through away with a very short life anyway?
"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By cfcustomer reviewsNovember 27, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your shredder and provide us with an opportunity to assist you. We are sorry to hear that the part is not available. A Fellowes representative will be in contact with you to discuss your options.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your situation and providing us with further opportunity to assist you.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Warning!
Date:May 3, 2011
Written By:lynnece
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features
Cons: Warranty, Service Guarantee, Mess Reduction, Quality Construction, durability
"I bought my MS-450Cs micro shredder a little more than a year ago. It was for home use and over the time I had it I probably only emptied it 4-5 times. The last time when I tried to turn it back on nothing happened, no power, nothing. I may have gotten a lemon, but for no more than it was used I would never ever consider buying a FELLOWES product again."
Review 3 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
50 sheets to jam for ever
Date:August 10, 2009
Written By:ascweb
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features, Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size, Sheet Capacity
Cons: Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, value
"MS-450Cs is fault in construction and neer beyond repair after 50 sheets."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Review 4 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Not worth the money
Date:May 26, 2009
Written By:fellowes
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size, Sheet Capacity
Cons: Quality Construction
"Fellowes is a good product when it works however it seems the product is not made to last long. It is quiet and does everything it should when it works. We have had a 450C before loved it and the shredder began grinding within 6 months of usage. Office Max did allow us to retun and get a replacement. It has been about a year and the shredder is grinding and about to go out again. After the first damaged shredder we began oiling after every heavy use and took all the staples out of the paperwork before shredding to see if that would help. We do not go over the sheet capacity ever and do everything we can to make sure we take good care of it. For the money I was hoping that we would get a longer life from this shredder. I am disappointed."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Review 5 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
plastic gears!
Date:May 29, 2010
Written By:zeus
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction
Cons: Warranty, Service Guarantee, plastic gear, breaks down after 6 months of home use
"I decided to buy this shredder after my first Fellowes shredder stopped working (the shredder worked fine for five years).
My new shredder worked well for the first four months. I was very happy with the overall performance. Then, after four months of use, the shredder would only shred one sheet of paper at a time.
Today, I tried to shred a sheet of paper and the shredder jammed. It stopped working (6 months after I purchased the shredder)!!!
When I opened the shredder (to clear the jam), I noticed that most of the gears were made of metal, vs my first fellowes shredder which had plastic gears. While I continued clearing the jam, I noticed why my shredder stopped working... The main gear that connects to the motor was broken. Yes, the main gear is made of plastic and broke like my previous shredder.
I would not recommend any Fellowes shredders that use plastic gears."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 6 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
It's not what I expected
Date:March 25, 2011
Written By:Crestina
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction
"I bought the shredder thinking it was like the old one I use to used, but this one only can load few pages not even the 7 advertised, and is very noisy. so I bought another one the DS-14C it's much better.
For the price it's not worth it.
"
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 7 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Average at best
Date:December 8, 2009
Written By:DHSCBPGovtUser
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
Cons: stops working frequently, will not handle volume of more then 2-3 sheets, frustrating to use
"I've been using this shredder over a year and find it to be average! I've never been able to place more then three sheets of paper in it before the shredder stops. The auto sensing eye does not work well, stopping paper halfway and shutting off the shredder. This requires that you turn on/off the shredder numerous times to back out the paper.
You have to be gentle when replacing the basket or it binds.
The Disk/Card shredder works fine. The macro cuts are very acceptable for shredding sensative material.
"
Location:Medium Office (50-250 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
Review 8 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Not great - not the worst
Date:August 26, 2009
Written By:CDKSU
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
Cons: Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Sheet Capacity, very slow
"This is a nice quiet shredder if noise is an issue for anyone. However, it really cannot handle any more than 3 to 4 sheets of paper at a time, so shredding becomes a time consuming labor intensive activity. It definitely shreds into small particles, which is a plus over strips. But, for being able to shred any amount of documents, one has to get a chair and sit down in front of it. The safety sensor is very selective - you have to hold the paper away from it, so you can't just let go and let the shredder do its job. We are disappointed in it at our office and wish we had chosen a different model."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 9 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Disappointed
Date:June 23, 2009
Written By:OfficemanagerKOP
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size
"I'd say we do a medium amount of shredding in the office.
I bought this shredder because we had a cheaper model which did not last very long and felt we needed a more expensive model for the workload. I loved how quiet it is. It shreds into very small pieces which is a plus for a medical office. However, it only lasted 5 months. I oiled it regularly. It did not get overused. I'm not happy with how quickly it broke, it didn't even last as long as the cheaper model.
"
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Review 10 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Works when it wants
Date:May 26, 2009
Written By:Dave
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
Cons: Quality Construction, Safety Features
"This shredder works only when it wants too. The biggest problem is that the temp comes on and shuts down shredder. Then after resetting, at least twenty times , it works with no problems.When it finally works it does a great job."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 11 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Good Shredder
Date:May 1, 2013
Written By:JavaJack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: temp warning light needs to come on sooner
"I recently bought the 450ms after buying and returning another brand.
My first shredder was a Fellowes that I bought years ago and it still works great. However, it was only a strip shredder and I wanted something more secure. Costco had a deal on a cross cut shredder so I picked it up and from the start it was not very good. It had an awful smell like the motor burning up. It was loud and only did a fair job of shredding, and practically slowed to a crawl when putting in more than one sheet. After 1 day we took it back and started looking around. After reading a number of reviews for Fellowes shredders and almost every single one was positive and based upon my past experience I felt confident in getting another Fellowes branded shredder.
I have only had this one a few days but it is a night and day difference from the other shredder I picked up from Costco. This thing is QUIET, much more so than the other one. I can put in a bunch of sheets and it chews right through them without slowing down. The pieces are so small that it would be impossible for someone to reassemble a sensitive document from the pieces. So far it works great.
My only complaint is that I wish the temp warning light came on sooner as you get close to the shut down temp. Unfortunately, it seems to come on at the same time the unit stops. At least it lets you know why it stopped. It would be nice to get the warning sooner so you can give the shredder a break before it overheats. perhaps a green, to yellow to red set of LEDs to let you know how close you are to max operating temp would do the trick.
Anyway, I would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a good, secure shredder for small office/Home office type work. If you have a lot of work to do, the continuous run time is OK but it's not like you can shread for a hour at a time. Unfortunately, I got behind on paperwork and have lots of piles to work through.
Nice work Fellowes, so far, I really like your quality and design. Just make that light come on sooner.
JavaJack"
Review 12 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Rec'd as a gift
Date:January 12, 2013
Written By:Friday
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, credit cards don't cut as small as paper
"I had an older Fellowes shredder that is still functioning, however since its an older model it shreds in strips. My son thought I need something more secure, thus the new shredder. Love it."
Review 13 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Powershred® MS-450Cs Micro-Cut Shredder
Date:October 28, 2012
Written By:Twntowers
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"I am glad I made this purchase...
Great product
As described
QUIET
Well worth it. I liked it so much I purchased another.
cons= no I can think of yet, or have not run into any problems as of yet. I do shed alot and since I have had it since late august 2012 working great"
Review 14 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Great Shredder MS-450Cs
Date:March 4, 2012
Written By:Barbara1120
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features
"I love this shredder for shredding paper. It works as advertised and shreds up to 7 sheets of paper per pass. I was disappointed in the credit card shredder part because rather than micro cut the card it cuts it either into strips or cuts it into what looks like a folded paper fan so it's still all together."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Review 15 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Worth the peace of mind!
Date:February 2, 2012
Written By:SherryS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"This shredder is quiet, works efficiently and the safety features are impressive. It even shreds staples with no problem. I highly recommend this machine for home use."
Review 16 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Shredder
Date:January 4, 2012
Written By:dsmyk
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"Everything is great so far. The only thing I think that could use improvement is the Pull-out Bin. It would be nice if it latched in better. I don't know if we are doing something wrong or if it's just the design. We have two different Fellowes shredders and they both have problems with the bin not staying in when we put the shredder bags in."
Review 17 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Good Product
Date:September 27, 2011
Written By:kbeth
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Safety Features, Jam Resistance
"I purchased this shredder for my office. Everyone is very satisfied with it. They especially like how quite it is."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 18 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
good so far
Date:April 24, 2011
Written By:9string
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size
"I purchased this to replace a shredder I've had for 8 years. This is much quieter than my old one. It works great so far, but I've only had it a short time."
Review 19 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
extraordinarily secure and extremely quiet
Date:September 23, 2009
Written By:NCI2
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction, Warranty
"If you're looking for an extraordinarily secure and extremely quiet shredder, this is the one to buy. Period."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Financial
Review 20 for Powershred® 450Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Good machine very poor manual
Date:September 1, 2009
Written By:Bobby
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Secure Cut Size
"I have been using the shredder for about a week and a half. It works well.
The manual is unbelievably poor.
There is a small been that attaches to the upper rim of the pull out bin. It is never identified. I think it serves to catch shredded cd's & credit cards.
There is no clarification as to whether the machine should be cooled by turning it off or left running.
Maintenance is the most serious issue. The instructions say to "oil when bin is full, or immediately, if: capacity decreases or motor sounds different, or shredder stops running". Further instructions say "apply oil across entry"
To get clarification, I called your tech support twice.
First tech: Oil every 15 min. while in reverse. Run forward 3-4 sec., then run in reverse 3-4 sec.
Second tech: Oil with steady stream left to right and then right to left while in reverse. Can not over oil this machine."
1 2 3 4 next>>