Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder

Patented Safety Lock disables shredder for added safety protection Shreds 11 sheets per pass into 5/32 x 1-3/8” cross-cut particles (Security Level P-4) Shreds for up to 5 minutes before a 20 minute cool down period is needed 4.75-gallon bin 1 year product warranty plus 3 year cutter warranty For 1 user
Average Customer Rating:
4.413 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(356 Reviews) 319
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (356 reviews)
5 stars
223
4 stars
96
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
15
321 of 356(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Suggestion how to fix a non-working shredder
Date:May 11, 2012
Written By:ddavi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, better fix it yourself instructions
"I gave a bad review which I wanted to edit, but Fellowes never posted it. My shredder stopped working a month after warranty and thought it was a defective power switch. It was not. So if your shredder stops working, look down into the slot - if you see paper - use a letter opener or something similar to remove or stir the paper around, now run in reverse to clear the jam. Now you will see a small piece of plastic in the center which was held down by the paper jam. In order for the shredder to turn on, the paper you put in has to push that little tiny piece of plastic in order to turn on the shredder.
I hope I've helped someone, especially those people who did complain their shredder quit working."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Show (1) comment +
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katie
Posted May 20, 2012
Thank you for posting this review. I too have a Fellowes shredder that is only a few months old. I just had the same thing happen to me, so I was researching to purchase a new one. I did what you suggested and, voila, works like brand new again! THANKS!!
Comments (1)
Show (1) comment +
Review 2 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Excellant product
Date:September 24, 2011
Written By:tampayankk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"As many may know, buying a low cost paper shredder always winds up being a bad investment. I would recommend buying the W11C for its Value,quality and its safety features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Purchase and Worth the Money
Date:July 7, 2014
Written By:Rico03
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: does not shred cds or paperclips
"I am a first time buyer of any shredding appliance. For years I have been tearing documents by hand; or taking the more important documents to work and shredding them there. I finally got tired of all this and invested in one. The shredder is small and compact, has numerous key safety issues that are great for either children or pets, its easy to clean, and fits my basic needs. Great simple product that can change or better your life."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great shredder
Date:January 20, 2014
Written By:PipeCreek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"I have had a Fellowes shredder for years. I needed one that was faster, handled more sheets at one time, could shred credit cards, and produced smaller cuts. This one filled the bill. I have only had it a short time, but I am already pleased with the performance."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
First Shredder Owned
Date:August 1, 2012
Written By:Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I have a W11C cross-cut shredder. Since this is the first shredder I've owned I will list the pros and cons I experienced with use. *( Some cons may be specific to all shredders).
PROS: did a good job shredding paper, has a convenient handle to lift the shredder head from the basket, safety lock for added protection from mishaps. Will shred credit cards and CD's but best to fold these between a piece of paper first.
CONS: machine cannot shred for more than 5 minutes without a 20 minute rest(works best with 30 minute rest), creates quite a bit of paper dust, shredder blade area must be continually cleaned of bits of stuck paper(running the motor in reverse helps clean it easier), somewhat heavy so this adds to cleaning problem, very loud.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
to noisy
Date:June 22, 2012
Written By:perky
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation
"My wife uses this shredder, it's a bit noisier then our other fellows shredder. She also doesn't like that she can't get her hand into the bin to push down the shredded pile of paper. the shredder head is heavy for her to lift each time she has to push the paper down......plus the noise is something she would like to lessen. But Fellows is our brand.....it's all we ever buy, and we shred everything."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very Disappointed
Date:June 11, 2012
Written By:amramr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance, strains to shred 11 sheets at a time
"I am very disappointed in this shredder. I followed the directions to the letter and the machine still jammed and had paper wound around the teeth. I chose this shredder because it had good reviews on Amazon. When I made the purchase I didn't know you could only run it for 5 minutes at a time. However, I did exactly as told and the shredder still jammed. I spent a little more than I would normally spend on this shredder because I thought it would be a better shredder and not jam. Not so. Very disappointed. If it wasn't for the shipping charge, I would send it back. I may anyway."
Response from Fellowes:By cfconsumer reviewsJune 20, 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to review your W11C shredder. We are very sorry to hear that you are having problems with the shredder.



We understand that you feel you have followed the operating instructions thoroughly; however, we would like to offer a possible solution to the jamming issue you are experiencing.



The unit is designed to accept 11 sheets of 20# paper. If the unit has not been oiled, please do so (please see link below). If the blades are dry, this may result in paper jamming on the cutters. In addition, if anyone has been shredding anything with adhesive (i.e. labels, post-its, etc.) the paper will jam continually because of the adhesive which has built up on the cutters.


If the blades have been oiled regularly and adhesive material has not been put through the cutters at any time, please call our consumer line. We would appreciate the opportunity to further assist you. 1.800.945.4545, Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CST

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Purchase But!
Date:November 16, 2010
Written By:popppy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Warranty, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I have no problem with this shredder's mechanical operation. It does a very good job in shredding, and up to 11 sheets works for me. However, the plastic container basket upon which the machine sets is not strong enough to support the machine, Very weak structure. . Mine cracked on the bottom and I had to reinforce it with some plywood cut to the dimensions. Of course it was after the one year warranty. I am just saying that Fellowes needs to make a stronger container and reinforce it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Perfect Household Shredder
Date:September 15, 2014
Written By:Stephen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"For my home office, this has been the perfect shredder. Easy to use, cross-cut shredding, fast, big capacity bin, handles lots of sheets, great safety feature ... what more could I have asked for. Highly recommended."
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 16, 2014
We are happy that you are so pleased with the functionality of our W11C shredder. Thank you so much for the review!
Review 10 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Shredder!
Date:September 9, 2014
Written By:Shelly
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"I bought this shredder to replace one that I had for quite some time that had become sluggish and overheated frequently. This shredder has cut my shred time at least in half! Would highly recommend this product to others."
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 10, 2014
Hi Shelly,

Thank you for your feedback and the great review on your new W11c!

Warm regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 11 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Really good shredder
Date:September 5, 2014
Written By:Kathie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: not really quiet
"I was about half way through a huge box of old papers that were to be shredded when my old shredder gave out. So I took some time to look up the reviews on line for fellowes. Satisfied that I had done my homework I bought the Fellowes power shredder w-11 c. It was a great decision. It has a lock feature and even a handle! I don't even have to remove staples."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 8, 2014
Kathie, we want to thank you for your patronage and for taking the time to write a review for your new W11c shredder! Your feedback helps us to maintain the most innovative solutions, exceptional product quality and first class service.
Review 12 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Best purchase EVER
Date:September 4, 2014
Written By:Grammyknew
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Jam Resistance
"Received this product and was thrilled at the speed and ease of operation. After struggling for years with a different shredder it is a delight to shred multiple sheets at a time with not a hint of bogging down. Great product !!!"
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 4, 2014
Grammyknew, thank you for taking the time to post a review! We greatly appreciate the feedback on your new W11C shredder.
Review 13 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Small Office User Friendly Shredder
Date:September 3, 2014
Written By:happyintulsa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"Our new shredder arrived yesterday and is proving to be a lifesaver. I read a lot of wonderful reviews on the internet and recommended this product to my boss. So far, we are terribly impressed with this little machine's sturdy action!! My homework has paid off 10 fold. A great addition to our small office."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 4, 2014
Hey there happyintulsa! We are so happy that you and your coworkers are so impressed with your new purchase! Thank you for the W11C review. One word of caution, if I may, the W11C is designed primarily for household shredding done by one user. Unless you are doing very minimal shredding, you may run the risk of burning out this smaller machine. Please keep this thought in mind. Thank you for choosing Fellowes, and happy shredding!
Review 14 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Why I bought one for the office
Date:September 3, 2014
Written By:Tele
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation, could use a taller bin
"I bought this one for the office, because I have one at home and love the way it operates. I love the small criss cross cuts and volume of shredding I can accomplish."
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 4, 2014
Hi Tele,

We really appreciate your patronage! Thank you for choosing Fellowes.

Best Regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 15 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Product
Date:September 2, 2014
Written By:nellie5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Jam Resistance
"This product is great! I like the design of it and it is also very light weight. I know that this product will last based on it's ability to shred materials quickly. Also, the bin for shredded pieces is large enough that you do not have to empty as often as some other shredders."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 3, 2014
nellie5, thank you for the review of your new W11c shredder!
Review 16 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
A Real Workhorse
Date:August 30, 2014
Written By:Liddie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, large bin
"This is my second Powershred W11C. The first was still going strong when I passed it on to a friend because I was moving. I immediately looked for the same make/model because of the excellent performance. It chews right through staples and credit cards but CDs are a bit more difficult, although I rarely need to shred those. It's still the best home/small office shredder I've ever used."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 2, 2014
Liddie, thank you for sharing your shredder story! We love hearing that you have been so happy with your W11c shredders. For future reference, this machine is not designed to shred CD's. While it may physically shred a CD, this action may cause unsolicited blade damage. The W11c has been tested to withstand both staples and credit cards. Thank you for choosing Fellowes!
Review 17 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Reception
Date:August 27, 2014
Written By:Clerk500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
Cons: Quiet Operation, very loud
"powerful, loud, fast"
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 29, 2014
Thank you for the review of your W11C shredder, Clerk500!
Review 18 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Shredder replacement
Date:August 25, 2014
Written By:dasmks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"Just replaced a shredder I've used for 3 years with Fellowes W11C. My old one did not have the lock safety feature. I love this one does. This is not only safer but faster, easier to use and love the handle to pick it up."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 26, 2014
Hello dasmks,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review for our W11C shredder; we appreciate hearing from you!

Kind regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 19 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
CRC 31032
Date:August 25, 2014
Written By:salemfuzzy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"CRC31032 is quiet and very efficient. The machine takes up to 12 pages of junk mail on a daily basis. I Love it! Great workmanship and American MADE."
Review 20 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Shredder
Date:August 6, 2014
Written By:Debbisun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"This is my 4th Shredder in 16 years and by far is the best one I have had. Does a great job of shredding personal papers so that my identity and personal information will not be stolen from my garbage."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 8, 2014
Dear Debbisun,

We appreciate hearing from our customers. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review!

1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>