Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder

Patented Safety Lock disables shredder for added safety protection Shreds 11 sheets per pass into 5/32 x 1-3/8” cross-cut particles (Security Level P-4) Shreds for up to 5 minutes before a 20 minute cool down period is needed 4.75-gallon bin 1 year product warranty plus 3 year cutter warranty For 1 user
Average Customer Rating:
4.418 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(364 Reviews) 326
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (364 reviews)
5 stars
230
4 stars
96
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
15
328 of 364(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Suggestion how to fix a non-working shredder
Date:May 11, 2012
Written By:ddavi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, better fix it yourself instructions
"I gave a bad review which I wanted to edit, but Fellowes never posted it. My shredder stopped working a month after warranty and thought it was a defective power switch. It was not. So if your shredder stops working, look down into the slot - if you see paper - use a letter opener or something similar to remove or stir the paper around, now run in reverse to clear the jam. Now you will see a small piece of plastic in the center which was held down by the paper jam. In order for the shredder to turn on, the paper you put in has to push that little tiny piece of plastic in order to turn on the shredder.
I hope I've helped someone, especially those people who did complain their shredder quit working."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Show (1) comment +
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katie
Posted May 20, 2012
Thank you for posting this review. I too have a Fellowes shredder that is only a few months old. I just had the same thing happen to me, so I was researching to purchase a new one. I did what you suggested and, voila, works like brand new again! THANKS!!
Comments (1)
Show (1) comment +
Review 2 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Excellant product
Date:September 24, 2011
Written By:tampayankk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"As many may know, buying a low cost paper shredder always winds up being a bad investment. I would recommend buying the W11C for its Value,quality and its safety features."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Much Needed Purchase
Date:October 19, 2014
Written By:LenabSure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features
Cons: Quiet Operation
"The quality of this product is very good especially for the price. It seem to have the durability that I need to get rid of some the excess paper I have accumulated. Very heavy and sturdy. I like the safety switch and the number of sheets it can shred at one time."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 20, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on your new W11C shredder.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Well Built
Date:October 11, 2014
Written By:Opnwyd3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, solid
Cons: Quiet Operation
"This shredder is by far the best I've ever purchased. I've probably gone through 6 shredders and none of them had the solid feel that Fellowes has. It doesn't have an engine lag even with significant number of sheets. Excellent"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 13, 2014
We appreciate the review, opnwyd3! It is great to hear that you are so pleased with your new W11C shredder.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Purchase and Worth the Money
Date:July 7, 2014
Written By:Rico03
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: does not shred cds or paperclips
"I am a first time buyer of any shredding appliance. For years I have been tearing documents by hand; or taking the more important documents to work and shredding them there. I finally got tired of all this and invested in one. The shredder is small and compact, has numerous key safety issues that are great for either children or pets, its easy to clean, and fits my basic needs. Great simple product that can change or better your life."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great shredder
Date:January 20, 2014
Written By:PipeCreek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"I have had a Fellowes shredder for years. I needed one that was faster, handled more sheets at one time, could shred credit cards, and produced smaller cuts. This one filled the bill. I have only had it a short time, but I am already pleased with the performance."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
First Shredder Owned
Date:August 1, 2012
Written By:Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I have a W11C cross-cut shredder. Since this is the first shredder I've owned I will list the pros and cons I experienced with use. *( Some cons may be specific to all shredders).
PROS: did a good job shredding paper, has a convenient handle to lift the shredder head from the basket, safety lock for added protection from mishaps. Will shred credit cards and CD's but best to fold these between a piece of paper first.
CONS: machine cannot shred for more than 5 minutes without a 20 minute rest(works best with 30 minute rest), creates quite a bit of paper dust, shredder blade area must be continually cleaned of bits of stuck paper(running the motor in reverse helps clean it easier), somewhat heavy so this adds to cleaning problem, very loud.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
to noisy
Date:June 22, 2012
Written By:perky
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation
"My wife uses this shredder, it's a bit noisier then our other fellows shredder. She also doesn't like that she can't get her hand into the bin to push down the shredded pile of paper. the shredder head is heavy for her to lift each time she has to push the paper down......plus the noise is something she would like to lessen. But Fellows is our brand.....it's all we ever buy, and we shred everything."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very Disappointed
Date:June 11, 2012
Written By:amramr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance, strains to shred 11 sheets at a time
"I am very disappointed in this shredder. I followed the directions to the letter and the machine still jammed and had paper wound around the teeth. I chose this shredder because it had good reviews on Amazon. When I made the purchase I didn't know you could only run it for 5 minutes at a time. However, I did exactly as told and the shredder still jammed. I spent a little more than I would normally spend on this shredder because I thought it would be a better shredder and not jam. Not so. Very disappointed. If it wasn't for the shipping charge, I would send it back. I may anyway."
Response from Fellowes:By cfconsumer reviewsJune 20, 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to review your W11C shredder. We are very sorry to hear that you are having problems with the shredder.



We understand that you feel you have followed the operating instructions thoroughly; however, we would like to offer a possible solution to the jamming issue you are experiencing.



The unit is designed to accept 11 sheets of 20# paper. If the unit has not been oiled, please do so (please see link below). If the blades are dry, this may result in paper jamming on the cutters. In addition, if anyone has been shredding anything with adhesive (i.e. labels, post-its, etc.) the paper will jam continually because of the adhesive which has built up on the cutters.


If the blades have been oiled regularly and adhesive material has not been put through the cutters at any time, please call our consumer line. We would appreciate the opportunity to further assist you. 1.800.945.4545, Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CST

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Purchase But!
Date:November 16, 2010
Written By:popppy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Warranty, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I have no problem with this shredder's mechanical operation. It does a very good job in shredding, and up to 11 sheets works for me. However, the plastic container basket upon which the machine sets is not strong enough to support the machine, Very weak structure. . Mine cracked on the bottom and I had to reinforce it with some plywood cut to the dimensions. Of course it was after the one year warranty. I am just saying that Fellowes needs to make a stronger container and reinforce it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very good for home use
Date:October 28, 2014
Written By:gordy1944
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Quiet Operation
"I have found this shredder to be very good for shredding my financial and legal documents."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We greatly appreciate you choosing Fellowes for your shredding needs.
Review 12 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Owner
Date:October 3, 2014
Written By:Dutchess
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
"Love the 11 page shedding. Saves me a lot of time . The safety features are great. I think I will enjoy this purchase for a long time,"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 3, 2014
Hello Dutchess,

It is great to hear from you; thank you for posting a review on your new W11C cross-cut shredder.

Warm regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 13 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Fellowes W11C
Date:September 29, 2014
Written By:mcchad
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"Just bought it, plugged it in and it works. Shredded one piece of paper, yay, so far, so good. Had to write this to qualify to win $500."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 1, 2014
Thank you for participating!
Review 14 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
Date:September 25, 2014
Written By:retiredoldman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Jam Resistance
Cons: Warranty, Quiet Operation
"The W11C is exactly as advertised. I hope it lasts the 14+ year my old unit did."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 3, 2014
Thank you for your continued patronage and loyalty!
Review 15 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Suddenly stopped working after 2 years
Date:September 24, 2014
Written By:coraspartan
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"When I first bought this shredder for my home office, I loved it. It could handle multiple pages at once and overall it was a good shredder. I bought the oil to go with it and oiled it regularly as recommended. After 2 years, it just completely stopped working out of the blue. I tried on several occasions to get it to work again without luck. I've decided to pitch it to the curb. I won't buy another Fellowes shredder."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Legal
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 24, 2014
We regret the unsatisfactory experience that you have had with our W11c shredder. If you have not already disposed of your machine, please give our Customer Service a call so that we can help remedy this situation. It is possible that there is a simple fix and we would love to help! Our Customer Service department can be reach via phone at (800) 945-4545. It is best to call while you are with your machine, so that they can assist you in troubleshooting. Thank you for submitting a review!
Review 16 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Perfect Household Shredder
Date:September 15, 2014
Written By:Stephen
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"For my home office, this has been the perfect shredder. Easy to use, cross-cut shredding, fast, big capacity bin, handles lots of sheets, great safety feature ... what more could I have asked for. Highly recommended."
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 16, 2014
We are happy that you are so pleased with the functionality of our W11C shredder. Thank you so much for the review!
Review 17 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Shredder!
Date:September 9, 2014
Written By:Shelly
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"I bought this shredder to replace one that I had for quite some time that had become sluggish and overheated frequently. This shredder has cut my shred time at least in half! Would highly recommend this product to others."
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 10, 2014
Hi Shelly,

Thank you for your feedback and the great review on your new W11c!

Warm regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
Review 18 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Really good shredder
Date:September 5, 2014
Written By:Kathie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: not really quiet
"I was about half way through a huge box of old papers that were to be shredded when my old shredder gave out. So I took some time to look up the reviews on line for fellowes. Satisfied that I had done my homework I bought the Fellowes power shredder w-11 c. It was a great decision. It has a lock feature and even a handle! I don't even have to remove staples."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 8, 2014
Kathie, we want to thank you for your patronage and for taking the time to write a review for your new W11c shredder! Your feedback helps us to maintain the most innovative solutions, exceptional product quality and first class service.
Review 19 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Best purchase EVER
Date:September 4, 2014
Written By:Grammyknew
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Jam Resistance
"Received this product and was thrilled at the speed and ease of operation. After struggling for years with a different shredder it is a delight to shred multiple sheets at a time with not a hint of bogging down. Great product !!!"
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 4, 2014
Grammyknew, thank you for taking the time to post a review! We greatly appreciate the feedback on your new W11C shredder.
Review 20 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Small Office User Friendly Shredder
Date:September 3, 2014
Written By:happyintulsa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"Our new shredder arrived yesterday and is proving to be a lifesaver. I read a lot of wonderful reviews on the internet and recommended this product to my boss. So far, we are terribly impressed with this little machine's sturdy action!! My homework has paid off 10 fold. A great addition to our small office."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 4, 2014
Hey there happyintulsa! We are so happy that you and your coworkers are so impressed with your new purchase! Thank you for the W11C review. One word of caution, if I may, the W11C is designed primarily for household shredding done by one user. Unless you are doing very minimal shredding, you may run the risk of burning out this smaller machine. Please keep this thought in mind. Thank you for choosing Fellowes, and happy shredding!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>