Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder

Patented Safety Lock disables shredder for added safety protection Shreds 11 sheets per pass into 5/32 x 1-3/8” cross-cut particles (Security Level P-4) Shreds for up to 5 minutes before a 20 minute cool down period is needed 4.75-gallon bin 1 year product warranty plus 3 year cutter warranty For 1 user
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(326 Reviews) 292
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (326 reviews)
5 stars
199
4 stars
92
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
14
293 of 326(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Suggestion how to fix a non-working shredder
Date:May 11, 2012
Written By:ddavi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, better fix it yourself instructions
"I gave a bad review which I wanted to edit, but Fellowes never posted it. My shredder stopped working a month after warranty and thought it was a defective power switch. It was not. So if your shredder stops working, look down into the slot - if you see paper - use a letter opener or something similar to remove or stir the paper around, now run in reverse to clear the jam. Now you will see a small piece of plastic in the center which was held down by the paper jam. In order for the shredder to turn on, the paper you put in has to push that little tiny piece of plastic in order to turn on the shredder.
I hope I've helped someone, especially those people who did complain their shredder quit working."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Show (1) comment +
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katie
Posted May 20, 2012
Thank you for posting this review. I too have a Fellowes shredder that is only a few months old. I just had the same thing happen to me, so I was researching to purchase a new one. I did what you suggested and, voila, works like brand new again! THANKS!!
Comments (1)
Show (1) comment +
Review 2 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great shredder
Date:January 20, 2014
Written By:PipeCreek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"I have had a Fellowes shredder for years. I needed one that was faster, handled more sheets at one time, could shred credit cards, and produced smaller cuts. This one filled the bill. I have only had it a short time, but I am already pleased with the performance."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
First Shredder Owned
Date:August 1, 2012
Written By:Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I have a W11C cross-cut shredder. Since this is the first shredder I've owned I will list the pros and cons I experienced with use. *( Some cons may be specific to all shredders).
PROS: did a good job shredding paper, has a convenient handle to lift the shredder head from the basket, safety lock for added protection from mishaps. Will shred credit cards and CD's but best to fold these between a piece of paper first.
CONS: machine cannot shred for more than 5 minutes without a 20 minute rest(works best with 30 minute rest), creates quite a bit of paper dust, shredder blade area must be continually cleaned of bits of stuck paper(running the motor in reverse helps clean it easier), somewhat heavy so this adds to cleaning problem, very loud.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
to noisy
Date:June 22, 2012
Written By:perky
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation
"My wife uses this shredder, it's a bit noisier then our other fellows shredder. She also doesn't like that she can't get her hand into the bin to push down the shredded pile of paper. the shredder head is heavy for her to lift each time she has to push the paper down......plus the noise is something she would like to lessen. But Fellows is our brand.....it's all we ever buy, and we shred everything."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very Disappointed
Date:June 11, 2012
Written By:amramr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance, strains to shred 11 sheets at a time
"I am very disappointed in this shredder. I followed the directions to the letter and the machine still jammed and had paper wound around the teeth. I chose this shredder because it had good reviews on Amazon. When I made the purchase I didn't know you could only run it for 5 minutes at a time. However, I did exactly as told and the shredder still jammed. I spent a little more than I would normally spend on this shredder because I thought it would be a better shredder and not jam. Not so. Very disappointed. If it wasn't for the shipping charge, I would send it back. I may anyway."
Response from Fellowes:By cfconsumer reviewsJune 20, 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to review your W11C shredder. We are very sorry to hear that you are having problems with the shredder.



We understand that you feel you have followed the operating instructions thoroughly; however, we would like to offer a possible solution to the jamming issue you are experiencing.



The unit is designed to accept 11 sheets of 20# paper. If the unit has not been oiled, please do so (please see link below). If the blades are dry, this may result in paper jamming on the cutters. In addition, if anyone has been shredding anything with adhesive (i.e. labels, post-its, etc.) the paper will jam continually because of the adhesive which has built up on the cutters.


If the blades have been oiled regularly and adhesive material has not been put through the cutters at any time, please call our consumer line. We would appreciate the opportunity to further assist you. 1.800.945.4545, Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CST

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Purchase But!
Date:November 16, 2010
Written By:popppy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Warranty, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I have no problem with this shredder's mechanical operation. It does a very good job in shredding, and up to 11 sheets works for me. However, the plastic container basket upon which the machine sets is not strong enough to support the machine, Very weak structure. . Mine cracked on the bottom and I had to reinforce it with some plywood cut to the dimensions. Of course it was after the one year warranty. I am just saying that Fellowes needs to make a stronger container and reinforce it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Excellant product
Date:September 24, 2011
Written By:tampayankk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"As many may know, buying a low cost paper shredder always winds up being a bad investment. I would recommend buying the W11C for its Value,quality and its safety features."
Review 8 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great product
Date:April 18, 2014
Written By:Smet
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Sheet Capacity
"I had bought 2 shredders from Costco & neither of them worked. Plugged this in & it worked fight away. Very Happy!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Financial
Review 9 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
tough shredder
Date:April 16, 2014
Written By:Kevindb1234
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"this a great shredder for home use great investment just love it and I had a few other models you can just tell by the weight compared to my others this is a heavy duty machine!"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 10 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Works like a powerhouse
Date:April 5, 2014
Written By:JenniferOO
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, quick
Cons: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance
"I appreciate the speed of the shredding, as well as being able to insert up to 11 sheets, or an average piece of junk mail without opening it, even though the product literature says it will not shred unopened junk mail. We were able to dispatch a full 10 oz can of papers (up to the brim) in less than 2 hours. The product instructions are incomplete and poorly written. It also would be nice if the base was made of sturdier plastic. Trying to get the base flush again after emptying the bin often takes two tries, and having it flush is a safety feature--it will not shred paper if the base is not secure. A sturdier base might resolve this issue."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Continuous Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By Melissa Hausercustomer reviewsApril 9, 2014
JenniferOO Thank you so much for your feedback on the Powershred W11C Cross-Cut Shredder. We truly value your opinions and suggestions. They were passed along to our Shredder team.

Review 11 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Replacement Shredder
Date:April 3, 2014
Written By:pollyann
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Quiet Operation
"We just purchased the shredder because our other one quit working. We had a bunch of paperwork that needed shredded and it got a good work out the first day. We still have a lot of material to shred and hopefully it will work as good as it has been. If not, I am sure you will hear from us. Thanks for a great product."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Consumer Services
Review 12 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Sleek and Awesome
Date:April 2, 2014
Written By:Coondog
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance
"We seriously had the worst, easiest to jam shredder before. This one is like a purring kitten, a BMW in the world of Ford Pinto shredders. I'm sure there are gigantic industrial sized ones but for our small 4 person office, this is perfect."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 13 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Little Shredder
Date:March 25, 2014
Written By:SDCA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: noisey
"The Fellowes powershred W11C is a good little shredder. It handles most anything a small home office can throw at it and it shreds it well. The only thing I would like to see is a pullout waste basket. Other than that I cannot think of anything else it needs."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 14 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Fellowes products
Date:March 25, 2014
Written By:Judetude
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features
Cons: Jam Resistance
"This is the third Fellowes shredder I have had and am pleased with the product. I like the safety qualities. I do seem to have problems with jamming. My last jam in my last machine resulted in broken shredder teeth. Not sure if it's something I'm doing or the product isn't shredding through staples easily."
Review 15 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Does exactly what its advertised to do
Date:March 16, 2014
Written By:Freeomano
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, nice style
"Have had not trouble with it , keeps on churning away"
Review 16 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
great product
Date:March 4, 2014
Written By:Franny
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction
"we just got our first fellowes shredder and it so much better than the one we had before that I am mad at myself for not have switched sooner. It takes more sheets of paper and runs so much faster. It is great!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Financial
Review 17 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
LBIFC
Date:March 4, 2014
Written By:LBIFC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Warranty, Secure Cut Size
"Replacing an old W11C that I BROKE. My fault. A very good machine."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 18 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great shredder
Date:March 3, 2014
Written By:lizziebelle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the third fellowes shredder that my office has purchased. The other two are still working . We needed a third one for the extra office because it was to time consumming to go into the othe room to shred papers all day long.I would recommend this shredder to anyone. It does a really great job. Doen't have any cons that I knnow of . I really like the job it does."
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Consumer Services
Review 19 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Solid!
Date:February 9, 2014
Written By:JMD1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: not quiet but proper shredding is a noisy job.
"This is a solid shredder with way more capability than needed for home or small business use. Price is good too."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 20 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good product for the price
Date:February 5, 2014
Written By:HomeBusinessOwner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size
Cons: very loud
"I purchased this shredder for home office use. You can't put too much through it at once, but for the price, it's exactly what I was expecting and it more than lives up to my expectations thus far. It is pretty loud, but then again, most shredders are."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>