Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder

Patented Safety Lock disables shredder for added safety protection Shreds 11 sheets per pass into 5/32 x 1-3/8” cross-cut particles (Security Level P-4) Shreds for up to 5 minutes before a 20 minute cool down period is needed 4.75-gallon bin 1 year product warranty plus 3 year cutter warranty For 1 user
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(341 Reviews) 304
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (341 reviews)
5 stars
209
4 stars
95
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
15
306 of 341(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Suggestion how to fix a non-working shredder
Date:May 11, 2012
Written By:ddavi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, better fix it yourself instructions
"I gave a bad review which I wanted to edit, but Fellowes never posted it. My shredder stopped working a month after warranty and thought it was a defective power switch. It was not. So if your shredder stops working, look down into the slot - if you see paper - use a letter opener or something similar to remove or stir the paper around, now run in reverse to clear the jam. Now you will see a small piece of plastic in the center which was held down by the paper jam. In order for the shredder to turn on, the paper you put in has to push that little tiny piece of plastic in order to turn on the shredder.
I hope I've helped someone, especially those people who did complain their shredder quit working."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Show (1) comment +
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katie
Posted May 20, 2012
Thank you for posting this review. I too have a Fellowes shredder that is only a few months old. I just had the same thing happen to me, so I was researching to purchase a new one. I did what you suggested and, voila, works like brand new again! THANKS!!
Comments (1)
Show (1) comment +
Review 2 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Excellant product
Date:September 24, 2011
Written By:tampayankk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"As many may know, buying a low cost paper shredder always winds up being a bad investment. I would recommend buying the W11C for its Value,quality and its safety features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Purchase and Worth the Money
Date:July 7, 2014
Written By:Rico03
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: does not shred cds or paperclips
"I am a first time buyer of any shredding appliance. For years I have been tearing documents by hand; or taking the more important documents to work and shredding them there. I finally got tired of all this and invested in one. The shredder is small and compact, has numerous key safety issues that are great for either children or pets, its easy to clean, and fits my basic needs. Great simple product that can change or better your life."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great shredder
Date:January 20, 2014
Written By:PipeCreek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"I have had a Fellowes shredder for years. I needed one that was faster, handled more sheets at one time, could shred credit cards, and produced smaller cuts. This one filled the bill. I have only had it a short time, but I am already pleased with the performance."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
First Shredder Owned
Date:August 1, 2012
Written By:Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I have a W11C cross-cut shredder. Since this is the first shredder I've owned I will list the pros and cons I experienced with use. *( Some cons may be specific to all shredders).
PROS: did a good job shredding paper, has a convenient handle to lift the shredder head from the basket, safety lock for added protection from mishaps. Will shred credit cards and CD's but best to fold these between a piece of paper first.
CONS: machine cannot shred for more than 5 minutes without a 20 minute rest(works best with 30 minute rest), creates quite a bit of paper dust, shredder blade area must be continually cleaned of bits of stuck paper(running the motor in reverse helps clean it easier), somewhat heavy so this adds to cleaning problem, very loud.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
to noisy
Date:June 22, 2012
Written By:perky
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation
"My wife uses this shredder, it's a bit noisier then our other fellows shredder. She also doesn't like that she can't get her hand into the bin to push down the shredded pile of paper. the shredder head is heavy for her to lift each time she has to push the paper down......plus the noise is something she would like to lessen. But Fellows is our brand.....it's all we ever buy, and we shred everything."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very Disappointed
Date:June 11, 2012
Written By:amramr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance, strains to shred 11 sheets at a time
"I am very disappointed in this shredder. I followed the directions to the letter and the machine still jammed and had paper wound around the teeth. I chose this shredder because it had good reviews on Amazon. When I made the purchase I didn't know you could only run it for 5 minutes at a time. However, I did exactly as told and the shredder still jammed. I spent a little more than I would normally spend on this shredder because I thought it would be a better shredder and not jam. Not so. Very disappointed. If it wasn't for the shipping charge, I would send it back. I may anyway."
Response from Fellowes:By cfconsumer reviewsJune 20, 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to review your W11C shredder. We are very sorry to hear that you are having problems with the shredder.



We understand that you feel you have followed the operating instructions thoroughly; however, we would like to offer a possible solution to the jamming issue you are experiencing.



The unit is designed to accept 11 sheets of 20# paper. If the unit has not been oiled, please do so (please see link below). If the blades are dry, this may result in paper jamming on the cutters. In addition, if anyone has been shredding anything with adhesive (i.e. labels, post-its, etc.) the paper will jam continually because of the adhesive which has built up on the cutters.


If the blades have been oiled regularly and adhesive material has not been put through the cutters at any time, please call our consumer line. We would appreciate the opportunity to further assist you. 1.800.945.4545, Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CST

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Purchase But!
Date:November 16, 2010
Written By:popppy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Warranty, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
"I have no problem with this shredder's mechanical operation. It does a very good job in shredding, and up to 11 sheets works for me. However, the plastic container basket upon which the machine sets is not strong enough to support the machine, Very weak structure. . Mine cracked on the bottom and I had to reinforce it with some plywood cut to the dimensions. Of course it was after the one year warranty. I am just saying that Fellowes needs to make a stronger container and reinforce it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Simple and Efficient
Date:July 21, 2014
Written By:Newlywedwife
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
"This new Fellowes Paper Shredder is the perfect edition to our new home. My husband and I were recently were married and both of us had numerous old papers, credit cards and outdated materials that were full of our own personal information. The thought of having to tear up the mound of papers that had accumulated on the desk seemed insurmountable! With one of our gift cards from our wedding shower, we were able to purchase this awesome machine. Within watching one tv program on television, the entire pile was nothing more than a shred of paper and plastic! I was able to use the standard medium size garbage bags that we already had in the house, so there wasn't even a mess to clean up afterwards! The best feature is the handle on top that allowed me to easily pick up the shredding device during the clean up. I think that now that we have the shredder in our home, we will be able to easily maintain our privacy and never feel overwhelmed by piles of paperwork again! Thanks Fellowes for such a great product!"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Continuous Use
Industry:Other
Review 10 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
does a great job shredding
Date:July 18, 2014
Written By:frenchy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Jam Resistance
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Quiet Operation
"have used shredder and find it excellent in shredding documents of all kind and i find i do not have to remove staples. so far it has not fail to shred any paper that i have put in it. i recommend this product highly."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 11 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Product
Date:June 24, 2014
Written By:Curmudgeon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Warranty, Secure Cut Size
"Outstanding purchase. Replaced an old shredder with this one and am very pleased with. It is definitely worth the money. This is a product I would refer others to purchase as well."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 12 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Wouldn't have chosen a different shredder
Date:June 14, 2014
Written By:rosales
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
"Being the first shredder ive bought this product is one that i do not regret purchasing and is useful in my everyday routine!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Consumer Services
Review 13 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good solid shredder
Date:May 31, 2014
Written By:stantonmac
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Quiet Operation, no oil included in the package
"My initial impressions of this shredder are that this is a solid machine. Compared to other home shredders I've bought and used, this is much heavier duty and I expect will last much longer. My only complaints: it is a bit louder than I would have hoped, and it would have been nice if they would have included a small bottle of oil in the package."
Review 14 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Only brand I will use
Date:May 24, 2014
Written By:Bkrboy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
"I have had 3 Fellows shredders. the last one (same model I just purchaased) lastyecd for 12 years with continual daily use.I am very happy with thios great product."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 15 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Awesome Shredder
Date:May 8, 2014
Written By:Marta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Secure Cut Size
"Works great! shreds all my sensitive documents, so i dispose of them and rest easy."
Review 16 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
need some improvement
Date:April 24, 2014
Written By:marathoner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very heavy, and makes a mess when emptying storage bin"
Review 17 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
One glitch to great
Date:April 21, 2014
Written By:Greeneyes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, durable
"My first unit kept jamming. I finally unjammed it and noticed that a very small defect was causing the problem. I can see where the quality control person would have missed it. There was a small gap between one of the cutter rolls that accumulated paper. I took it back to Bed Bath and Beyond where I had purchased the product and those fine folks switched it for a new one. The new machine has worked flawlessly! I absolutely love it. It replaced a much more inferior and less expensive one, but I have not regreted the step up one bit. This is a fine product and I enjoy using it and will recommend it to all my aquintances."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 18 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Not Fully Satisfied
Date:April 20, 2014
Written By:Trajetking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Warranty, Sheet Capacity, Safety Features, Quiet Operation
"I purchased my machine about three weeks ago, the noise level is high and it smells of burning plastic when in use, only 30 days warranty given."
Review 19 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great product
Date:April 18, 2014
Written By:Smet
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Sheet Capacity
"I had bought 2 shredders from Costco & neither of them worked. Plugged this in & it worked fight away. Very Happy!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Financial
Review 20 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
tough shredder
Date:April 16, 2014
Written By:Kevindb1234
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"this a great shredder for home use great investment just love it and I had a few other models you can just tell by the weight compared to my others this is a heavy duty machine!"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>