Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder

Patented Safety Lock disables shredder for added safety protection Shreds 11 sheets per pass into 5/32 x 1-3/8” cross-cut particles (Security Level P-4) Shreds for up to 5 minutes before a 20 minute cool down period is needed 4.75-gallon bin 1 year product warranty plus 3 year cutter warranty For 1 user
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(373 Reviews) 334
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (373 reviews)
5 stars
236
4 stars
99
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
15
337 of 373(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Excellant product
Date:September 24, 2011
Written By:tampayankk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" As many may know, buying a low cost paper shredder always winds up being a bad investment. I would recommend buying the W11C for its Value,quality and its safety features. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Suggestion how to fix a non-working shredder
Date:May 11, 2012
Written By:ddavi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, better fix it yourself instructions
" I gave a bad review which I wanted to edit, but Fellowes never posted it. My shredder stopped working a month after warranty and thought it was a defective power switch. It was not. So if your shredder stops working, look down into the slot - if you see paper - use a letter opener or something similar to remove or stir the paper around, now run in reverse to clear the jam. Now you will see a small piece of plastic in the center which was held down by the paper jam. In order for the shredder to turn on, the paper you put in has to push that little tiny piece of plastic in order to turn on the shredder.
I hope I've helped someone, especially those people who did complain their shredder quit working. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Show (1) comment +
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katie
Posted May 20, 2012
Thank you for posting this review. I too have a Fellowes shredder that is only a few months old. I just had the same thing happen to me, so I was researching to purchase a new one. I did what you suggested and, voila, works like brand new again! THANKS!!
Comments (1)
Show (1) comment +
Review 3 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
A goto in my office tool box!
Date:December 20, 2014
Written By:oldjoe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Quiet Operation
" Love my new shredder. It replaced an old Fellows shredder which worked fine for about 20 years and it is still going strong. Now I can now put my junk mail in it without opening them and it grinds them up wihout jamming. It is a great office tool. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSDecember 22, 2014
Thank you for the review! A kind word of warning; be careful with your junk mail, as the W11-C is not technically tested for the this type of shredding although it is rated with an 11 sheet shredding capacity. We want your new shredder to last you just as long as your old one!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Much Needed Purchase
Date:October 19, 2014
Written By:LenabSure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features
Cons: Quiet Operation
" The quality of this product is very good especially for the price. It seem to have the durability that I need to get rid of some the excess paper I have accumulated. Very heavy and sturdy. I like the safety switch and the number of sheets it can shred at one time. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 20, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on your new W11C shredder.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Well Built
Date:October 11, 2014
Written By:Opnwyd3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, solid
Cons: Quiet Operation
" This shredder is by far the best I've ever purchased. I've probably gone through 6 shredders and none of them had the solid feel that Fellowes has. It doesn't have an engine lag even with significant number of sheets. Excellent "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 13, 2014
We appreciate the review, opnwyd3! It is great to hear that you are so pleased with your new W11C shredder.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Purchase and Worth the Money
Date:July 7, 2014
Written By:Rico03
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: does not shred cds or paperclips
" I am a first time buyer of any shredding appliance. For years I have been tearing documents by hand; or taking the more important documents to work and shredding them there. I finally got tired of all this and invested in one. The shredder is small and compact, has numerous key safety issues that are great for either children or pets, its easy to clean, and fits my basic needs. Great simple product that can change or better your life. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great shredder
Date:January 20, 2014
Written By:PipeCreek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
" I have had a Fellowes shredder for years. I needed one that was faster, handled more sheets at one time, could shred credit cards, and produced smaller cuts. This one filled the bill. I have only had it a short time, but I am already pleased with the performance. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
First Shredder Owned
Date:August 1, 2012
Written By:Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
" I have a W11C cross-cut shredder. Since this is the first shredder I've owned I will list the pros and cons I experienced with use. *( Some cons may be specific to all shredders).
PROS: did a good job shredding paper, has a convenient handle to lift the shredder head from the basket, safety lock for added protection from mishaps. Will shred credit cards and CD's but best to fold these between a piece of paper first.
CONS: machine cannot shred for more than 5 minutes without a 20 minute rest(works best with 30 minute rest), creates quite a bit of paper dust, shredder blade area must be continually cleaned of bits of stuck paper(running the motor in reverse helps clean it easier), somewhat heavy so this adds to cleaning problem, very loud.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
to noisy
Date:June 22, 2012
Written By:perky
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation
" My wife uses this shredder, it's a bit noisier then our other fellows shredder. She also doesn't like that she can't get her hand into the bin to push down the shredded pile of paper. the shredder head is heavy for her to lift each time she has to push the paper down......plus the noise is something she would like to lessen. But Fellows is our brand.....it's all we ever buy, and we shred everything. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very Disappointed
Date:June 11, 2012
Written By:amramr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance, strains to shred 11 sheets at a time
" I am very disappointed in this shredder. I followed the directions to the letter and the machine still jammed and had paper wound around the teeth. I chose this shredder because it had good reviews on Amazon. When I made the purchase I didn't know you could only run it for 5 minutes at a time. However, I did exactly as told and the shredder still jammed. I spent a little more than I would normally spend on this shredder because I thought it would be a better shredder and not jam. Not so. Very disappointed. If it wasn't for the shipping charge, I would send it back. I may anyway. "
Response from Fellowes:By cfconsumer reviewsJune 20, 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to review your W11C shredder. We are very sorry to hear that you are having problems with the shredder.



We understand that you feel you have followed the operating instructions thoroughly; however, we would like to offer a possible solution to the jamming issue you are experiencing.



The unit is designed to accept 11 sheets of 20# paper. If the unit has not been oiled, please do so (please see link below). If the blades are dry, this may result in paper jamming on the cutters. In addition, if anyone has been shredding anything with adhesive (i.e. labels, post-its, etc.) the paper will jam continually because of the adhesive which has built up on the cutters.


If the blades have been oiled regularly and adhesive material has not been put through the cutters at any time, please call our consumer line. We would appreciate the opportunity to further assist you. 1.800.945.4545, Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CST

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Purchase But!
Date:November 16, 2010
Written By:popppy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Warranty, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
" I have no problem with this shredder's mechanical operation. It does a very good job in shredding, and up to 11 sheets works for me. However, the plastic container basket upon which the machine sets is not strong enough to support the machine, Very weak structure. . Mine cracked on the bottom and I had to reinforce it with some plywood cut to the dimensions. Of course it was after the one year warranty. I am just saying that Fellowes needs to make a stronger container and reinforce it. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Another Great Fellowes Shredder
Date:January 17, 2015
Written By:Jazzlover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: a bit noisy, will not shred cds
" I went through "The Agony and The Ecstasy" trying to replace my tired, broken shredder. My previous Fellowes shredder had been purchased sometime before 2005. I loved it! I researched several different brands but kept coming back to Fellowes. I had heard both positive and negative reviews on this one, but let me tell you...it's great! I love the recessed handle that makes it extremely easy for me to empty the container. My old one required that I lift that heavy shredding mechanism using both hands. (can't tell you how many times I dropped it on my foot! Ouch!!) The W11C is powerful (no problem shredding 11 sheets) and has a handy locking device for inquisitive grandkids. I am extremely happy with this purchase. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSJanuary 19, 2015
Thank you for the awesome review! We appreciate your patronage and appreciate hearing from you.
Review 13 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Strong and Dependable Heavy Duty
Date:January 11, 2015
Written By:Gert
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features
" I'm enjoying my shredder. It is dependable and more powerful than any shredder that I have had in the past. It is convenient it shreds credits cards and staples. I am satisfied with the warranty period and the safety features "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSJanuary 12, 2015
The W11C shredder is definitely one of our most popular household machines. Thank you for the great review!
Review 14 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Excellent Home Shredder Choice
Date:January 9, 2015
Written By:Frodaddy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" Great worker for my home office - fast shredder; no jams; capacity is good; quiet for a shredder; clean appearance; doesn't take up a lot of space. Overall a great purchase for me. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSJanuary 9, 2015
We really appreciate hearing from you. We are glad that our W11C met your shredding needs so well. Thank you for choosing Fellowes!
Review 15 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Homeward bound
Date:January 7, 2015
Written By:Tedsr
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Service Guarantee, Mess Reduction, Secure Cut Size, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Jam Resistance
" And yes I would recommend this product two anyone had had no problems with it in fact I tried another one the other day and I was disappointed it wasn't as good as this and it cost more. And that I am really satisfied .:-) "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSJanuary 7, 2015
Awesome! We are happy that you are so happy; keep on shredding!
Review 16 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
WIIC
Date:January 4, 2015
Written By:Calamari
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
" This is the best shredder I have bought. It really does the job is shredding to small paper bits and the credit card component is likewise a powerful shredder. Love the safety lock. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSJanuary 5, 2015
We are glad to hear that you are so pleased with your new W11C shredder! Thank you for the review.
Review 17 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
works well
Date:November 27, 2014
Written By:tessie
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Quiet Operation
" I like that it has a handle for easy moving and taking off the to empty. It also has an opening so you can see when it is getting full. It shreds well and quickly. It is a loud, but only while you are shredding... "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSDecember 1, 2014
Thanks for the great review!
Review 18 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Shredder
Date:November 18, 2014
Written By:KJoe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: loud
" This is the best shredder I have used yet. I shopped around and bought one at Sam's Club. I returned it as soon as I had to empty it and the shavings went all over the floor. The Fellowes Powershred W11C works like a champ. I but it though the test - 10 year old papers that had to be shredded and it never got hot or jammed. The empty ben is easy and clean. "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSNovember 20, 2014
You put it to quite the test, indeed! Just be cautious to abide by the 11 page sheet capacity to avoid burning out the motor. Thank you for choosing Fellowes.
Show (1) comment +
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RoHo
SC
RH
Posted December 22, 2014
I have a cheaper Fellows shredder that has lasted for more than 8 yrs. without a problem. I needed another one and chose the W11C. It works like a more expensive one. Haven't been disappointed yet.
Comments (1)
Show (1) comment +
Review 19 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very good for home use
Date:October 28, 2014
Written By:gordy1944
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Quiet Operation
" I have found this shredder to be very good for shredding my financial and legal documents. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We greatly appreciate you choosing Fellowes for your shredding needs.
Review 20 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Owner
Date:October 3, 2014
Written By:Dutchess
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
" Love the 11 page shedding. Saves me a lot of time . The safety features are great. I think I will enjoy this purchase for a long time, "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 3, 2014
Hello Dutchess,

It is great to hear from you; thank you for posting a review on your new W11C cross-cut shredder.

Warm regards,

Fellowes Customer Service
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>