Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder

Patented Safety Lock disables shredder for added safety protection Shreds 11 sheets per pass into 5/32 x 1-3/8” cross-cut particles (Security Level P-4) Shreds for up to 5 minutes before a 20 minute cool down period is needed 4.75-gallon bin 1 year product warranty plus 3 year cutter warranty For 1 user
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(386 Reviews) 345
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (386 reviews)
5 stars
246
4 stars
102
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
15
350 of 386(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Suggestion how to fix a non-working shredder
Date:May 11, 2012
Written By:
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Warranty, better fix it yourself instructions
" I gave a bad review which I wanted to edit, but Fellowes never posted it. My shredder stopped working a month after warranty and thought it was a defective power switch. It was not. So if your shredder stops working, look down into the slot - if you see paper - use a letter opener or something similar to remove or stir the paper around, now run in reverse to clear the jam. Now you will see a small piece of plastic in the center which was held down by the paper jam. In order for the shredder to turn on, the paper you put in has to push that little tiny piece of plastic in order to turn on the shredder.
I hope I've helped someone, especially those people who did complain their shredder quit working. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Show (1) comment +
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katie
Posted May 20, 2012
Thank you for posting this review. I too have a Fellowes shredder that is only a few months old. I just had the same thing happen to me, so I was researching to purchase a new one. I did what you suggested and, voila, works like brand new again! THANKS!!
Comments (1)
Show (1) comment +
Review 2 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Best purchase ever
Date:March 4, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is the best shredder i ever bought, i like the safety lock and the way and size it cuts the paper. I wish i done this long time ago, i told my friends and family about it. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By CSMarch 5, 2015
Thank you for choosing Fellowes! We are thrilled to hear that you are so pleased with your new W11C.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
A goto in my office tool box!
Date:December 20, 2014
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Quiet Operation
" Love my new shredder. It replaced an old Fellows shredder which worked fine for about 20 years and it is still going strong. Now I can now put my junk mail in it without opening them and it grinds them up wihout jamming. It is a great office tool. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSDecember 22, 2014
Thank you for the review! A kind word of warning; be careful with your junk mail, as the W11-C is not technically tested for the this type of shredding although it is rated with an 11 sheet shredding capacity. We want your new shredder to last you just as long as your old one!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Much Needed Purchase
Date:October 19, 2014
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features
Cons: Quiet Operation
" The quality of this product is very good especially for the price. It seem to have the durability that I need to get rid of some the excess paper I have accumulated. Very heavy and sturdy. I like the safety switch and the number of sheets it can shred at one time. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 20, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on your new W11C shredder.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Well Built
Date:October 11, 2014
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, solid
Cons: Quiet Operation
" This shredder is by far the best I've ever purchased. I've probably gone through 6 shredders and none of them had the solid feel that Fellowes has. It doesn't have an engine lag even with significant number of sheets. Excellent "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 13, 2014
We appreciate the review, opnwyd3! It is great to hear that you are so pleased with your new W11C shredder.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Purchase and Worth the Money
Date:July 7, 2014
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: does not shred cds or paperclips
" I am a first time buyer of any shredding appliance. For years I have been tearing documents by hand; or taking the more important documents to work and shredding them there. I finally got tired of all this and invested in one. The shredder is small and compact, has numerous key safety issues that are great for either children or pets, its easy to clean, and fits my basic needs. Great simple product that can change or better your life. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great shredder
Date:January 20, 2014
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
" I have had a Fellowes shredder for years. I needed one that was faster, handled more sheets at one time, could shred credit cards, and produced smaller cuts. This one filled the bill. I have only had it a short time, but I am already pleased with the performance. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Government
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
First Shredder Owned
Date:August 1, 2012
Written By:
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
" I have a W11C cross-cut shredder. Since this is the first shredder I've owned I will list the pros and cons I experienced with use. *( Some cons may be specific to all shredders).
PROS: did a good job shredding paper, has a convenient handle to lift the shredder head from the basket, safety lock for added protection from mishaps. Will shred credit cards and CD's but best to fold these between a piece of paper first.
CONS: machine cannot shred for more than 5 minutes without a 20 minute rest(works best with 30 minute rest), creates quite a bit of paper dust, shredder blade area must be continually cleaned of bits of stuck paper(running the motor in reverse helps clean it easier), somewhat heavy so this adds to cleaning problem, very loud.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
to noisy
Date:June 22, 2012
Written By:
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation
" My wife uses this shredder, it's a bit noisier then our other fellows shredder. She also doesn't like that she can't get her hand into the bin to push down the shredded pile of paper. the shredder head is heavy for her to lift each time she has to push the paper down......plus the noise is something she would like to lessen. But Fellows is our brand.....it's all we ever buy, and we shred everything. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very Disappointed
Date:June 11, 2012
Written By:
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance, strains to shred 11 sheets at a time
" I am very disappointed in this shredder. I followed the directions to the letter and the machine still jammed and had paper wound around the teeth. I chose this shredder because it had good reviews on Amazon. When I made the purchase I didn't know you could only run it for 5 minutes at a time. However, I did exactly as told and the shredder still jammed. I spent a little more than I would normally spend on this shredder because I thought it would be a better shredder and not jam. Not so. Very disappointed. If it wasn't for the shipping charge, I would send it back. I may anyway. "
Response from Fellowes:By cfconsumer reviewsJune 20, 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to review your W11C shredder. We are very sorry to hear that you are having problems with the shredder.



We understand that you feel you have followed the operating instructions thoroughly; however, we would like to offer a possible solution to the jamming issue you are experiencing.



The unit is designed to accept 11 sheets of 20# paper. If the unit has not been oiled, please do so (please see link below). If the blades are dry, this may result in paper jamming on the cutters. In addition, if anyone has been shredding anything with adhesive (i.e. labels, post-its, etc.) the paper will jam continually because of the adhesive which has built up on the cutters.


If the blades have been oiled regularly and adhesive material has not been put through the cutters at any time, please call our consumer line. We would appreciate the opportunity to further assist you. 1.800.945.4545, Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CST

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Excellant product
Date:September 24, 2011
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" As many may know, buying a low cost paper shredder always winds up being a bad investment. I would recommend buying the W11C for its Value,quality and its safety features. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Purchase But!
Date:November 16, 2010
Written By:
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Warranty, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
" I have no problem with this shredder's mechanical operation. It does a very good job in shredding, and up to 11 sheets works for me. However, the plastic container basket upon which the machine sets is not strong enough to support the machine, Very weak structure. . Mine cracked on the bottom and I had to reinforce it with some plywood cut to the dimensions. Of course it was after the one year warranty. I am just saying that Fellowes needs to make a stronger container and reinforce it. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
great product!!!
Date:April 19, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: small opening on bottom
" works perfect right out of the box.. setup was a breeze... the safety feature is a must if you have kids around... shreds dvds, papers and credit cards with ease... the one concern i have is the small opening on the bottom kids can put their hands in it if you are not watching other then that its a great product to have.. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By CSApril 20, 2015
As a friendly piece of advice, our W11C is not designed to shred CDs or DVDs and we would not want you to burn up your machine! Thank you for the review and thank you for choosing Fellowes. :)
Review 14 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
fantastic shredder
Date:March 23, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" bought the crc31032 W11c POWERSHRED on February 13, 20009 and today is March 23, 2015 the feed tongue broke. I never had any problems with this fantastic shredder for home use and will now go and purchase another Fellows paper shredder. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By CSMarch 24, 2015
Thank you for sharing your wonderful testimony! We thank you for your review and Fellowes loyalty.
Review 15 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Fellowes Shredder
Date:March 18, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" This is the best home shredder I have ever owned, by far. Fast and shreds into tiny chips. Beats the "el cheapos"! "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Response from Fellowes:By CSMarch 18, 2015
It sounds as if you are very pleased with your new shredder and that is what we like to hear. Thank you so much for the great review.
Review 16 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Replacement
Date:March 16, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: switch to activate on basket
" So far, my only concern is that for some reason, you have to reset the shredder on the basket to make it run. This is after not using for a few hours. In fact, when I first set it up, it would not operate until I reset the shredder two or three times before it would run properly. I know have to do the same thing after not using. I believe that it has something to do with the switch that activates the machine not making contact properly "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Response from Fellowes:By CSMarch 16, 2015
There could be an easy fix to the issue that you are describing. When you are with your machine and have a moment, please give us a call! Our team can be reached directly at (800) 945-4545. Thank you for the review and we look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Review 17 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Perfect for Small home office
Date:February 27, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
" It does what it suppose to without problems so far. "
Response from Fellowes:By CSFebruary 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to contribute your review!
Review 18 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Little Shredder
Date:February 16, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction
Cons: Quiet Operation
" This shredder appears to be built very well. Have had it a week or so now and it works great. I have followed the rules (no more than 11 sheets, and I work short batches and oil it), but it keeps eating paper like a champ. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Response from Fellowes:By CSFebruary 16, 2015
Thank you for the review of your champ shredder! We are glad to hear that you are so pleased with your new W11C.
Review 19 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
Highly Recommend, Shreds well, and even credit cards!
Date:February 14, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
" Highly Recommend, Shreds well, and even credit cards! Well built shredder, can easily handle 8 pages or more and even credit cards to shred! Well built and large paper /shred bin.Great value for the money! Safety lock to keep safe from kids. Highly recommend! "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
Review 20 for Powershred® W11C Cross-Cut Shredder
W11C Shredder
Date:February 11, 2015
Written By:
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
" This is a GREAT value for the money. Fast, Quite and easy to see when your bin is getting time to empty.This sounds like a simple idea, but it does make thing easier. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>