Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Fellowes.

DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder

  • High performance shredder with jam release feature
  • Shreds 12 sheets per pass into 5/32 x 1-1/2” cross-cut particles (Security Level 3)
  • Exclusive Turbo Jam Release button powers through jams
  • Features wide 9” paper entry
  • For individual use
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(264 Reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (264 reviews)
5 stars
212
4 stars
39
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
6
258 of 264(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Very quiet
Date:August 17, 2011
Written By:cmaid52
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: some times difficult to start.
"I was impressed at how quiet this machine is, compared to the old shredder I can shred things early in the morning and not have to worry about waking anyone up. It is sometimes difficult to get the shredder to work when the paper is inserted. The paper has to be placed just so, inorder for the paper shredder to start shredding. Otherwise very pleased with this shredder."
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Review 2 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
DM12ct
Date:July 4, 2011
Written By:soup
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"It is a wonderful addition to the small office. Have not tried to jam it , but normal use is great. It is better than the old bulky ps 80 faster and better than the newer DM15c, were not talking less problems were talking no problems. dm15c you get a lot of false lights. Bin full , overheating light. The DM12ct great to fit rite in the office shredder."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Continuous Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Review 3 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
love it!!!
Date:March 19, 2011
Written By:jonwolf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Mess Reduction
"got this thing home and never opened the box until this week and am so sorry we didn't open it sooner. It is great and we love it. I recommend it to everybody for home use especially."
Review 4 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Replacing a former shredder that performed well
Date:March 9, 2011
Written By:Selective
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Jam Resistance
"This model is as nearly identical to a previous shredder that perfomed well over a period of five plus years. The brand is identical to the previous shredder's brand.
I expected an exact duplicate, but it appears to have some enhancements, I will be pleased when it performs as well as the old one that it replaces."
Review 5 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
It's Tax Time Again
Date:January 24, 2011
Written By:Sarge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, small footprint
Cons: somewhat topheavy
"I'm from a small town in North Idaho. Tax time is coming up and this year I'm determined to shred all of my old (older than 7 yrs) tax records. I checked locally and on the internet and nothing satisfied my requirements. I decided to purchase a Fellows DMC 12+ because I had a very old home Fellows model and it worked well for 20+ years but couldn't handle the load I required. I worked for 8-10 hours straight and finally shreded all my old tax, bank, and household records. I never had one problem with my Fellows although it halted (normal operation) to cool down from time-to-time. This is a grrreat machine!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 6 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Best Investment in a while
Date:January 15, 2011
Written By:krb24
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, great price
"Purchasing this shredder has been the best investment I have made in a while. It works great and can handle losts of volume with ease. If you want something that works well at a reasonable price, then this is the shredder for you, because you are not going to fine anything better!!!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 7 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Perfect for My Needs!
Date:January 13, 2011
Written By:LadyParvati
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"I looked at lots of shredders and shredder reviews for a home shredder, and Fellowes came out on top every time--for home AND office! Now that I have used it, I understand why.
For a college-level educator (which I am), confidentiality is a big issue. This shredder eats up old student papers, whether stapled or paper-clipped, very easily. It even seems to beg for more!
It sucks in the papers I feed it and chops them up faster than I can get them ready to feed. A couple of times I gave it too much at once, but though it slowed down, it still chopped them up just fine. Once I jammed it--totally my fault--and I just followed Fellowes' instructions to switch from forward to reverse several times; it cleared quickly.
It is easy to feed, easy to operate, and easy to empty (if I don't let it get too full!), though it tends to drop some shreddings outside the bin when I remove it. Overall, though, it is far superior to what I used in an office previously, and I'm thrilled to have it in my home now!"
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 8 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Exceptional Shredder
Date:December 11, 2010
Written By:Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Jam Resistance
"For a number of years my wife and I used the Fellows P600C-2 personal shredder. We purchased the DM12Ct because of the larger shredding capacity . The personal shredder worked well for small quantities of paper but is very limiting when having to shred larger quanties of paper more often.
The DM12Ct has met our needs and has been performing exceptionally well. It chews up multiple sheets of paper without any issues. It doesn't back up or slow down as the paper goes through the machine. Likewise, it easily shreds credit cards and CD's without jamming.
In summary we are very happy with this purchase and its performance."
Review 9 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Quality Product
Date:December 8, 2010
Written By:Teri
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"This is the second Fellowes Shredder I own. I can attest to its durability and consistency. Just follow the instructions, if it states the the unit only can handle 12 sheets that is what it is built to handle. Don't try to over burden the machine and then complain. Respect the piece of equipment and you will have it for many years to come."
Review 10 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Solid & Dependable
Date:December 8, 2010
Written By:shredfellow
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: feed angle
"Having used several different home/office shredders, I am impressed by the DM12Ct Cross-cut Shredder's ability to handle 'meaty' shredding jobs easily and far more quietly than competing shredders (I can actually shred something while on a phone call without completely obliterating the conversation).
The only drawback I've encountered so far is that the "feed angle" required to initiate shredding is pretty precise. This means that it often takes more than one feed attempt to get the shredder blades to grab hold of the paper you want shredded. On the flip side, this may actually be a safety feature."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Review 11 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Wonderful machine
Date:December 6, 2010
Written By:DViger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: don't know of any
"I've had other shredders but this one is the best I've ever owned or used. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a powerful, reliable and inexpensive way to protect their identity."
Review 12 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Shredding, shredding, shredding!
Date:December 1, 2010
Written By:boldlygoseattle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Sheet Capacity
"My new Fellowes DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder performs incredibly well and shreds anything that I put into it. I have shredded CDs, Credit Cards, and thick stacks of confidential papers. Great Purchase!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Healthcare
Review 13 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Very Good
Date:December 1, 2010
Written By:Ronko
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"Very good shredder. Had three bags of old receipts and it took them flawlessly. Only jams if you try to feed too much. Any jam was easily cleared with reverse. I stopped when it was getting warm so as not to overheat but went for about 20 minutes. Took credit cards fine. Use a plastic bag for less mess. Quiet and powerful. Maybe could use wheels but I don't move it so fine for me."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Review 14 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Shredder
Date:November 27, 2010
Written By:ResearcherDM
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"This is a very useful shredder for a small operation. We have used it for several weeks and highly recommend it."
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 15 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Easy to use workhorse
Date:November 18, 2010
Written By:BizMark
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
"This shredder works hard and delivers the goods. The catch bin slides out easily and the bin window helps keep tabs on the shredding progress. Much better than removing the entire shredding head from the top of a basket as with other models. Unit is quiet and delivers small chips of shredded paper. So far, the best I have owned."
Review 16 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
my Shredder
Date:November 15, 2010
Written By:sandyd
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"I truly enjoy my shredder. It is easy to use and it's quiet.
the pieces are small,. It is safe enough that if needed my grandchildren can use it . When I need them to give me a helping hand, with my extreme load of paper work . With all the fraud going on I try to shred important papers and it seems to be an ever lasting chore. I had a fellows shredder prior to this one, I am happier with the performance of this one.
It is the best purchase that I have made in a very long time.
It was worth every cent that I paid for it. I will recomend it to my friends and family.
"
Review 17 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Quality Shredder!
Date:November 13, 2010
Written By:Jkbpb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
"Love the easy hamper access and separate control for shredding CDs and cards."
Review 18 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Date:November 6, 2010
Written By:Darrell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction
"The machine does not make much noise and is able to handle what I need."
Review 19 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Upgrade!
Date:November 6, 2010
Written By:Gayle
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
"My previous shredder died and I had to replace. I did a lot of research before choosing the Fellowes DM12 and I can positively attest to how pleased I am with the purchase. It is quiet, efficient, does not jam and has the front basket for easy emptying. A superior product to my former shredder!"
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Review 20 for DM12Ct Cross-Cut Shredder
great shredder
Date:October 29, 2010
Written By:anatolian
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: need more info on maintenance
"I have been using few other brands before but this machine is excellent."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>