Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Fellowes.

DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder

  • Reliable shredder for the small office
  • Shreds 14 sheets per pass into 5/32” x 1-1/2” cross-cut particles (Security Level 3)
  • Designated shredder safety slot for shredding CDs
  • For individual use
Average Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
92 of 93(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to others. a friend.
Customer Reviews for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
problem shredder
Date:November 14, 2011
Written By:cutup
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
Cons: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction
" I had to request a replacement shredder because my first one would not turn off. I think the problem occurred because the wast bin does not stay close to the shredded so the red light comes on all the time or if you barely bump the shredded. This caused the shredded to malfunction. "
Response from Fellowes:By cfshredderFebruary 16, 2012
Hi Cutup,



I represent the Fellowes Quality Assurance Team that responds to consumer online product reviews. Thank you for taking the time to post this review! We have taken your concerns to our Quality team, and they are in the process of developing a solution to the issue. Additionally, Customer Service followed up to let us know that you had received a replacement machine. We hope that you are pleased with this new model, but let us know if you have any additional comments or concerns! We value consumer feedback and are committed to offering the most innovative solutions, exceptional product quality, and first class service and support.



Sincerely,

Fellowes Quality Assurance Team

email: fellowes_shredders@fellowes.com

Review 2 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
DS1400C
Date:May 22, 2011
Written By:texas
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
" Cuts more sheets than by other Royal brand and cuts them smaller. Great item. Wish the basket was of stronger material or thicker plastic. "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 3 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Ideal for Small Office
Date:May 2, 2011
Written By:shreddermantoo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: slow
" Durable and solid contstruction. Easy to set up. Does an excellent job. A good value. I wish it were a little faster. "
Review 4 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Fellowes Customer For Life
Date:March 3, 2011
Written By:MyronL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, very easy to use and assemble
" I have been so so happy since the recent purchas of my Fellowes DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder.
It has actually exceeded my expectations, especially with the safety lock feature.
I like also the fact that one at a time when I receive junk mail that I know is junk mail with out even opening it, I can shred the whole envelope with confidence.
And yes, its very quiet.
But what hooked me the most is the fact that Fellowes stands behind there product.
The previous one I had that had some malfunction issues was replaced with out any questions.
That is the kind of customer service that puts Fellowes over the top.
Thanks Fellowes, I am glad to reap the benefits of your hard work.
Myron L "
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Review 5 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Delivers As Promised
Date:March 3, 2011
Written By:JoeS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, slow
" I use this product for home use. I upgraded from a Fellows PowerShred P55 and the difference is night and day. The DS-1400C easily handles more pages and cuts it much more finely and securely. I only wish it was a little faster and little neater. I have no problem recommending this product. "
Review 6 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Enjoyable
Date:February 28, 2011
Written By:CHUM
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Mess Reduction
Cons: pull-out bin is flimsy when removing/replacing.
" Love the ease of use and the safety features. I was always afraid, with previous shredders, that "little fingers" could activate the shredding process----Not with this one. My only issue is that it is a bit heavy to relocate and the pull-out bin is a bit flimsy when removing and replacing.
It does a great job on the cris-cross shredding and demolishing credit cards for security purposes.
"
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 7 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good product
Date:February 20, 2011
Written By:Tarzru
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" I like the safety features and the ability of this product to do a lot of shredding didderent items. Compact and does not take much space. "
Review 8 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Product
Date:February 10, 2011
Written By:AmyK6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
" This is a great, reliable, sturdy shredder. I love the safety features on it. "
Review 9 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Great Shredder
Date:February 9, 2011
Written By:AuntC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
" I bought this shredder to replace a Fellowes shredder I've had for several years. It still worked as good as when it was purchased, but I wanted a cross-cut shredder for better security, rather than the strip shredder I had. I stayed with Fellowes as I never had a problem with my previous Fellowes shredder. The new shredder is great. Much quieter than the older shredders. It works fabulously. The waste bin holds quite a bit and I'm very pleased with it. The bin pulls out easily. I'm very happy with the new shredder and will also keep my old one as an extra. I would recommend this shredder to all my friends "
Review 10 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Very Impressed
Date:February 4, 2011
Written By:Dogwhisperlady
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
" Our office purchased the Fellowes paper shredder a month or so ago and at first I was sceptical. I thought to myself, "This is too small, is it going to be able to handle our needs?" Wow, was I mistaken. I was very impressed with the capability of this machine. It can take many papers and never jams. I did put a paper in a little crooked once and it jammed in the corner but worked its way through. Good job Fellowes. "
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 11 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Excellent Shredder
Date:January 25, 2011
Written By:Maysay
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" Product performs better than expected and is extremely quieter than the one it replaced from another manufacturer. "
Review 12 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Good Value shredder
Date:January 21, 2011
Written By:Bonnie22
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Mess Reduction
" I am please with my new shredder. It is heavy and seems to do well with set of sheets up to 6 pages. Also like the new feature of a separate slot for plastic cards. Quite happy and hope it last 5 years. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 13 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
No Buyers Regret Here
Date:January 17, 2011
Written By:gatorlady
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" We purchesed the Fellows DS-1400C for our main copy room. We have 3 other shredders in the office that are a different brand, (whatever was on sale at the time). Each on of the others has failed and we have completely replaced them with the Fellows DS-1400C. We have alot of shredding as confidentiality is of upmost importance and cannot just throw papers in the trash so our shredders get alot of use. I would recommend this shredder to everyone. "
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Continuous Use
Industry:Legal
Review 14 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Safe and Super!
Date:January 9, 2011
Written By:Jon1129
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction
Cons: Jam Resistance
" It's simple, safe with plenty of space and overall a good use of money! You'll love it! "
Review 15 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Freedom
Date:January 6, 2011
Written By:scifinut37
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" We have been overrun by old bills, catalog pages and documents with personal information on them for years because of fear identity theft. This shredder is totally fantastic. ! Easy to use and very efficient. We are quickly becoming free of our mountain of paper! Thank you Fellowes for a fine product that works exactly the way it is described. It has exceeded our expectations! Thank you! "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Review 16 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
When quality counts
Date:December 21, 2010
Written By:Sliderule
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: don't know if the motor and gears are sealed
" After going through two shredders, I felt that it was time to look into purchasing a quality shredder. After looking on line to see which one company had the best rating. I was only interested in a home use shredder, however, Fellowes was rated the best in all that I read. Granted, I could have found a write up with another company listed at the top but I felt enough was written about Fellowes quality that I decided to make the purchase. This shredder was right in line with other shredders but none had the quality I wanted.
I can not really attest to the durability over the long haul at this time but so far I like the unit. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Review 17 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Date:December 9, 2010
Written By:thunderjug
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: none
" It is the best product for our purpose. Works great. "
Review 18 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Pretty Good
Date:December 4, 2010
Written By:Bomber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction
" I recently bought the shredder to shred numerous years of documents that we had stored. Shredder did a good job but have a few suggestions. Emptying the basket is messy. My old Royal allowed me to lift the head off basket prior to emptying it.....much less messy. Also suggest you include a small bottle of oil with product if it is required to be used periodically. "
Review 19 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Much needed equipment for the office
Date:November 22, 2010
Written By:Ruth
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: so far no cons
" When we moved to new location, the old shredder did not make the trip. Have struggled to get a replacement. I have had only a couple of weeks, but has worked well and quietly as I share my space with my employer and try not to make too much noise.
We have had a fraud experience and am now in process of shredding many many check from old cking acct.
We have become very security minded in this office as of now and look forward to the help this new machine is affording our safety.
"
Review 20 for DS-1400C Cross-Cut Shredder
Suits my needs
Date:November 21, 2010
Written By:FloridaChief
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Quiet Operation
" Everyone has a home office, daily life demands it and because of this we all need to use and benefit from a "document" shredder. I make daily use out of mine and it has continued with superior performance. "
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
1 2 3 4 5 next>>