AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder

Product Reviews

AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder

AutoMax™ offers a truly walk away shredding experience, automatically shredding stacks of paper with wrinkles, staples, and even paper clips. Simply load the drawer, press start, and walk away Features Fellowes® SureFeed Technology™ which provides powerful automatic shredding that allows for a truly walk away shredding experience Shreds 300 sheets into 5/32” x 1-1/2” cross-cut particles (Security Level P-4) JamGuard System™ prevents shredding interruptions for jam free operation SmartLock™ engages with each shred cycle to protect confidential information SilentShred™ offers ultra-quiet performance for shared workspaces Energy saving Sleep Mode feature shuts down the shredder after 2 minutes of inactivity Innovative touch screen technology with back-lit LEDs Convenient pull-out drawer for front loading of materials to be shred Versatile, flat top for easy office integration and additional storage space Shreds for up to 30 minutes before a 30-minute cool down period is needed 16 gallon removable corrugate bin. For shared use
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 of 69%of 13customers would recommend this product to others
Customer Reviews for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
Review 1 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Purchase"
Date:August 25, 2017
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2017
Written By:cookd
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Education
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Warranty
" We just received this shredder for our office which is an intermediate school and there is alot of shredding. So far it is great, cannot believe how fast and a great feature how quite. "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 25, 2017
Thank you for choosing our AutoMax to help you power through your shredding!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"300C"
Date:April 5, 2017
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2017
Written By:hospital
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Jam Resistance, Quiet Operation, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Sheet Capacity
Cons: Mess Reduction, sometimes drawer sticks
" We are very pleased with our shredder...we can place our papers in & walk-away. Love it! "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSApril 6, 2017
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing Fellowes!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Best in the class"
Date:December 4, 2016
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2016
Written By:Mathew
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Engineering
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Jam Resistance, Quality Construction, Quiet Operation, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
" I have purchase the Shredder for my office. The built in quality is up to the industry standards. With security option. I would really like to recommend this product. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Disappointed"
Date:August 9, 2016
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2016
Written By:Tullett
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Legal
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation
Cons: Quality Construction
" I have a lot of shredding one day a month. When it is working it rarely jams. It needs to be emptied often, but I can live with that. But in the few months I have had the shredder I have had several incidents. The first being that the plastic that holds one of the hinge screws on the door snapped off for seemingly no reason (had to have someone come and replace the door) and the other day, the remove paper iluminated, after the paper was pulled out the drawer would not shut. While the drawer was open the start was pushed and the shredder ran (even though I believe it is not suppose to run if the drawer is open since that is a safety hazard). The drawer will only shut now if I reach in and push the roller up. This was a much more expensive shredder than I usually have and though I am relatively happy with the way it works when it works, it seems that it is cheaply made and breaks easily considering it is only gently used. I was looking for something that would be reliable and last. For the money I am very disappointed. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Best shredder I have owned!"
Date:November 26, 2015
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2015
Written By:bigben
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Warranty
" I searched a long while to find the perfect shredder. The Fellowes 300C has exceeded my expectations. Just fill the bin and let it shred. It handles different size paper, staples with a breeze. I have so much shredding it seemed liked a nightmare, standing and feeding a shredder. Now I fill the bin and walk away. It is awesome. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this shredder to anyone. "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSNovember 30, 2015
Thank you for choosing our 300C for your shredding needs!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Upgraded our shredder"
Date:April 30, 2015
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2015
Written By:DLR16
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Mess Reduction
" The shredder is much quieter than our old one. The capacity isn't huge, but works for the small office environment. "
Response from Fellowes:By CSMay 1, 2015
We appreciate that you took the time to contribute a review on our AutoMax 300C; thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"200C Auto Feed Shredder"
Date:March 18, 2015
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2015
Written By:bayboat
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" We are so excited to have this shredder to replace our old one. This one operates quietly and we can load up 200 pages and leave it to do its work. "
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Shredds Excellent but jams all the time"
Date:January 6, 2015
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Date:January 6, 2015
Written By:Wilton
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Jam Resistance
" The Shredder itself is good but if you don't shake the box every time you shred it piles up on a bar that is directly below the shredding blades and eventually gets jammed up in the blades. It is kind of annoying if and you can't just put the paper in and forget it. The papers shreds then back up and spill into the hopper and make a big mess. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSJanuary 9, 2015
First of all, thank you for taking the time to submit your online review in order to make us aware of the problem that you are experiencing with your 300C shredder. Thank you so much for providing a picture, as that was a huge help in beginning the troubleshooting process. We would appreciate the opportunity to work with you in order to remedy this issue. Please refer to your email for further communications. Thank you for choosing Fellowes!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My life at work is sooooooooooo much easier now!"
Date:November 14, 2014
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
Written By:Katharoo
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: wheels need to lock in place.
" I have been using a "manual" feed Fellowes shredder before getting the AutoMax 300C and there is simply no comparision! "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSNovember 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad to hear that you are so happy with your new AutoMax shredder.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Satisfied overall but..."
Date:November 13, 2014
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2014
Written By:Paperipper
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quality Construction
" We are a 15 employee office and do a fair amount of shredding. The auto shred has really freed up time. We have not had problems with jams, and it is relatively quiet. The main drawback with this machine is that the paper falls to the rear of the shredder. If the collection box is not flush against the back (which is difficult with a bag inserted) paper falls behind the box resulting in the box not sliding to the back which means even more paper gets back there. Cleaning the paper out means getting down on your hands and knees and reaching all the way in and is a messy job. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Headache"
Date:November 4, 2014
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2014
Written By:FrustratedCustomer
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Secure Cut Size
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
" This product has been a headache almost since day one. I am in an office of about 9 people and we have continuously reverted back to our 3 page at a time shredder that does not cross cut shred just to avoid the headache. We have to open the shredder almost weekly, if not more often, to undo all the paper that just builds up in the back. Some how, without the bin even being full we have piles of shredded paper around and under the bin. I am not happy with this product and neither is my boss. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Ok, but not walkaway"
Date:June 3, 2014
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014
Written By:AndyTheLawyer
Location:Medium Office (50-250 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Legal
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Warranty
Cons: Jam Resistance
" More jams than ever (unless your careful and separate out all the sheets). Also, the trash needs emptying often (I hate that job). It looks nice in our office though. Its not as reliable as Fellowes other shredders "
Response from Fellowes:By Melissa HauserreviewsJune 4, 2014
AndyTheLawyer please contact our Customer Service at 1-800-955-0959 about your jam issues. You should not have to separate out your sheets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for AutoMax™ 300C Auto Feed Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Only had it a week, it's not perfect but good."
Date:February 11, 2014
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
Written By:DrShredder
Location:Medium Office (50-250 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: documentation
" It does everything it says it will at least so far, without a single jam. There are two things we've found frustrating thus far. First the waste bin fills up very quickly, frequently even before completing a job of less than the tray capacity. Second after a week of use it has begun squeaking considerably. The device comes with oil and an allen wrench but no documentation as to how frequently it should be oiled and where. "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSJuly 29, 2014
Hello DrShredder,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Fellowes AutoMax 300C. I represent the Fellowes Team who monitors and responds to consumer on-line product reviews. We are very happy to hear that the AutoMax is meeting your expectations in regards to shredding versatility and performance!

However, we are sorry to hear that you have also had some less than ideal interactions with the 300C. We’d appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally about those, as we value consumer feedback and are committed to offering the most innovative solutions, exceptional product quality and first class service and support. Please contact us at customercare@fellowes.com at your earliest convenience.

In regards to oiling, those instructions are now included in the product manual and Quick Start Guide. Simply apply a light coating of oil (Fellowes 35250) between two sheets of paper and shred the paper as you normally would.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.