MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder

Product Reviews

MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder

Auto Reverse stops and reverses paper if a jam occurs SafeSense® Technology stops shredding when hands touch the paper opening SilentShred™ offers ultra-quiet performance for shared workspaces Energy saving Sleep Mode feature shuts down the shredder after 2 minutes of in activity Shreds 14 sheets per pass into 5/64”x 9/16” micro-cut particles (Security Level P-5) Shreds for up to 20 minutes before a 40 minute cool down period is needed 9 gallon pull-out bin holds over 80% more Micro-Cut particles per gallon than standard Cross-Cut 25.2”H x 11.4”W x 17.3”D 1 year product warranty and 7 year cutter warranty For shared use
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 88%of 8customers would recommend this product to others
Customer Reviews for MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"strong and quiet"
Date:March 15, 2016
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2016
Written By:jwpbbook
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Quiet Operation
" This is both quieter and heavier duty than the shredder it replaced. It is able to shred junk mail without having to open the envelope. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Design and Performance"
Date:March 9, 2016
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2016
Written By:StanT
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Business Owner/Self-Employed
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee
" Better than my previous purchase of the Fellowes 58-89Ci in terms of finer shredding of documents and capacity of basket. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"so far so good"
Date:November 22, 2015
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2015
Written By:superrad
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Business Owner/Self-Employed
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
" works well. i wish it was less messy. How about bags that fit better? "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSNovember 23, 2015
Our 99Ms machine is compatable with shredder bag item #36053. If you need assistance finding this product, please let us know, or visit our website for a retailer near you. Thank you for your review!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Casters break off"
Date:May 2, 2015
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Date:May 2, 2015
Written By:MikeH
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Occasional Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style & Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Quiet Operation, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Quality Construction, caster quality
" I've had this new shredder a little over 6 months. It's a very good shredder generally, I had no problems installing the casters, as another reviewer said, they snap in. I've moved this shredder between 50 - 100 *feet* in its short life, on solid, flat, hardwood floors that are smooth as glass. BUT, the "housing" around 2 of the casters, separately from each other, have broken for no reason, and the housing around a 3rd has a smaller crack. See the 2 photos. I tried multiple layers of duct tape, but because the breaks are right at big and at two insertion points, it doesn't work. This is a huge annoyance to deal with. Other than these problems, the shredder is fine. I'd give this 4 if there were no caster problems. It gets 1 star because this is really a pain in the butt. "
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Response from Fellowes:By CSMay 5, 2015
This is a very unusual situation and we thank you for making us aware of the trouble that you are experiencing. We have not been made aware of such a situation in the past and we would like the opportunity to learn more about your usage patterns. When you are with your machine and have a moment, please give us a call directly at (800) 945-4545. We look forward to hearing from you!
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great Product Almost Excellent, Highly Recommeded"
Date:April 30, 2015
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2015
Written By:Shredrite
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
Cons: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
" I have owned several different manufactures of shredders and have used the Fellows High Security shredder at work for years. When the last shredder failed I decided to try Fellows for Home/Office and everything about this model is excellent but would have liked it to run longer before temperature safety kicks-in (ideal would be more industrial motor and vents for removing the heat build-up). With a stronger motor you would be able to shred others items like CD's, etc. along with more sheets per pass, which would be terrific. It will shred Credit Cards fine but with more data formats that are in use today, it would be ideal to be able to shred them for complete ID security. For most home use this would never be a problem, but I think with slight changes to this model it would pretty much ensure long long life use. Cut size is excellent. Overall GREAT product functionality and performance. "
Response from Fellowes:By CDMay 1, 2015
We appreciate that you took the time to review your new 99Ci! For future reference, this machine will shred CD's!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great Purchase"
Date:September 12, 2014
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2014
Written By:HEC808
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Continuous Use
Industry:Government
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size
Cons: Sheet Capacity
" In my work office, we had a junk shredder, but we got this one to replace it. It has been great and is working very well for us. It is very sleek looking and does not make a lot a noise in our very small office. I think that the touch feature is very cool and love how it shreds paper to little confetti. Overall, it is a great purchase! "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 15, 2014
HEC808, thank you for contributing to the reviews of our 99Ms shredder! We really appreciate hearing from you and love hearing that you are so pleased with your recent purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MicroShred 99Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Shoud Have Purchased Sooner!"
Date:January 17, 2014
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Written By:JJFlash
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" Living with several adults in my household, personal shredders cannot come close to the durability and capacity of this shredder. Junk mail is the bread and butter of our postal service. I would continually put off shredding due to the amount of my personal time home shredders consume. In a world where privacy is at a minimum and one's name is sold over and over to marketing companies, my privacy is of paramount importance. When shredding marketing offers for several people, I am overjoyed that the Power shred 99ms can devour credit card offers and any unwanted junk, as well as files that are no longer needed. The Micro-Cut feature along with the 9 gallon waste bin was a major factor in deciding which model to choose. The shredded remains are "Micro" size just as stated by Fellowes, which lessens the number of times the bin needs to be emptied along with the paper remains being far superior in size than standard cross cut shredders.The security level is a P-5, which is at the higher end of the scale. The waste bin has an indicator stating when it is full, and the auto shutoff over the throat is a welcome safety factor. It also has a sleep mode that activates after a period of inactivity, which can be quickly resumed at the touch of a button. The information panel indicators are very helpful. I have wanted a large capacity shredder for several years and with the increase in unwanted mail, this purchase is well justified. Although it weighs 49lbs, having casters is a great feature that adds to portability and taking the mundane out of shredding. I purchase many items online, and this is the first review I have ever given, only because I value my privacy so highly. However, this shredder certainly deserves a rave review. The only improvement I would suggest would be a 10" throat width, but for all the wonderful features this shredder has, I can live with 9". It does not shred optical media, which wasn't a factor for me as I do my backups on external drives, for occasional optical media coarse sandpaper will destroy data as well as shredding. I assume that the reason optical media cannot be shredded is because the Micro-Cut fine shredding would cause too much heat on optical media. Overall, I am a well satisfied customer, and overjoyed to find a quality shredder with the major features I was looking for regarding my needs. "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.