Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder

Product Reviews

Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder

100% Jam Proof System eliminates paper jams and powers through tough jobs Designed and assembled in the USA and meets strict TAA guidelines Auto-Oil™ automatically lubricates the cutters to enhance performance and extend shredder life SafeSense® Technology stops shredding when hands touch the paper opening Energy Savings System provides optimal energy efficiency 100% of the time-in use and out of use Patented cutting system allows for maximized cutting efficiency and consistent, reliable performance Extra wide 16” paper entry Shreds 30 sheets per pass into 5/32” x 1-1/8” cross-cut particles (Security Level P-4) Continuous duty motor offers non-stop shredding 35 gallon bin For departmental use 37.5”H x 25”Wx 20”D
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 90%of 10customers would recommend this product to others
Customer Reviews for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Machine...Out with the old in with the new"
Date:August 22, 2017
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2017
Written By:Payroll
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Accounting/Finance
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, Quality Construction, Quiet Operation, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs
" Great purchase for our small office. Good safety features. The shreader tells you if you are trying to feed it too many sheets or if you can feed it more. Also it warns you if the bag is filled reducing clean up. It is quiet enough to continue with a conference call one office away. "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 23, 2017
We are glad that you are enjoying all of the included features of our 485Ci and we thank you for choosing our shredder for your small office environment!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So good we bought two"
Date:August 1, 2017
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2017
Written By:PJPJ
Location:Medium Office (50-250 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Accounting/Finance
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Service Guarantee, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Warranty
" The shredder has a very intuitive sensor so our big shred jobs went very quickly. I also never feel like my fingers could come in contact with the blades. The design is clever because it takes space constraints into account and fits into our small available nook, though it is not a tiny machine. It also is not very loud considering the power it has. I also really like not having to oil the machine often. Once a year or so, I fill it with the oil and then don't have to think about it. One thing i think that should be updated is the box that the shredding is caught in, its cardboard so it if gets dirty you kind of have to live with it. I do like that cardboard is bio-degradable and i think they need to keep that 'green' aspect to the catch bin but with a slightly better material. Anyway we liked it enough to buy a second one when our demand increased. "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 1, 2017
Woah, so good that you bought two?! That's so awesome and we appreciate your review.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Worth Repeating"
Date:October 26, 2015
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2015
Written By:Structa
Location:Large Office (251+ employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Government
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Warranty
" We already had this model when given the opportunity to replace it with anything we wanted. We decided that because our old model was still running strong and easy enough to maintain, that we'd like another, newer model and are pleased to have it! Our organization does a lot of shredding of docs and CDs/DVDs so we needed a powerful strong unit. "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSOctober 29, 2015
Thank you for choosing Fellowes and our 485Ci once again! We appreciate your patronage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"XLNT Shredder!"
Date:April 6, 2011
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2011
Written By:Fab4Girl
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" Replaced a very old, NOISY shredder with a Fellowes. Only issue seems to be slower shredding, but that could be due to fact Fellowes is a criss-cross and old machine did strips. Old machine sounded like a jet taking off. This is a great shredder! "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Average"
Date:September 20, 2010
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2010
Written By:Jill
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Sheet Capacity, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Jam Resistance
Cons: Mess Reduction, Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
" The machine is basically an average machine. I was quite surprised since we paid a pretty penny for it. It's quite loud. But besides that, it does what it is supposed to do without any trouble. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
""
Date:March 8, 2010
User Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010
Written By:ahatuwm
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features
Cons: Quiet Operation, Jam Resistance
" The shredder worked great in the beginning but after a year or so the shedder sometimes work but most times doesn't. The jam light stays on and there is nothing jamming it. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Oil problems"
Date:September 29, 2009
User Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2009
Written By:DJ
Location:Large Office (251+ employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jam Resistance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Sheet Capacity
Cons: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, Warranty
" I researched shredders for a month before I chose to get this one for our office. When it works, it's great. The first one I got had a missing part and leaked oil. I had that part replaced but still had problems with oil leaking. They sent me a new machine. This one doesn't seem to leak because we only add 1/2 a bottle of oil at a time but now the jam light stays on and we hit the forward button to feed paper through. Sometimes it makes strange sounds. It runs by itself when we turn it on, before we put anything in it. We've had the computer kit replaced on it already too. We clean the sensor but that doesn't help. It only has a year warranty on it so I'm not sure what will happen since all the problems I've had started within 3 months of my purchase and now it's been over a year. This was one of the first models to have an internal oiler from what I hear. I hope they work out these problems because I really like it otherwise. I'm not sure if these problems are just kinks that have to be worked out and hopefully improved on the next model. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good investment"
Date:August 27, 2009
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2009
Written By:Doctor
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe Operation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Sheet Capacity
Cons: Quiet Operation, Warranty
" Powerful shredder without jam up issues. Only issue is noisy and occasional squeaks. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powershred® 485Ci 100% Jam Proof Cross-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A True Workhorse"
Date:May 26, 2009
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2009
Written By:Donald
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Sheet Capacity, Service Guarantee, Warranty
" With all of the regulations regarding identity theft, it was imperative that we destroy whatever paper documentation that was no longer necessary for our credit cards and credit accounts. The C-480C fit the bill and has met all of our expectations. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.