Top Rated Product
Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder

Product Reviews

Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder

Ultimate protection with particles 10 times smaller than standard cross-cut Auto Reverse stops and reverses paper if a jam occurs SafeSense® Technology stops shredding when hands touch the paper opening SilentShred™ offers ultra-quiet performance for shared workspaces Holds over 80% more paper per gallon than standard cross-cut Shreds 10 sheets per pass into 5/64”x 5/16” micro-cut particles (Security Level P-5) Maximum run time: 10-12 on / 20 off 7.5 gallon pull-out bin 27”H x 15.4”W x 12.75”D For 1-3 users
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 93%of 14customers would recommend this product to others
Customer Reviews for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Office Shredder"
Date:August 29, 2014
User Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2014
Written By:RiverValley
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
" All of us here at the office love how quite it is. "
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSSeptember 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your Ms460.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am in LOVE! Worth every penny!"
Date:August 7, 2014
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2014
Written By:Windchyme
Location:Home
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, easily rolls on carpet
Cons: none at all
" I just got this shredder and oh my I am in love. It is QUIET, when it is shredding the machine gives of the faint gentle hum of a fridge that is working well when it kicks on...the paper cutting and crinkling as it goes through is louder. It is solidly built and I can believe it is a heavy duty shredder. It has been chewing through the papers I had stored up in the 2 weeks since my little mickey mouse over the trash can strip shredder gave out. No overheating, no struggling though I've been at it for about 20 mins (paper in, pause while I grab and straighten another group of papers, paper in again). The shreds are TINY. They are bigger than sand but compare to bigger particle clay cat litter in size. They'd be perfect bedding for small animals, bird nest boxes, use in the garden- why let this stuff go to waste?
All that is left is to see how long it lasts. Assuming the 7 year warranty on the blades as the life span....that would make it worth every last penny I spent on it (even though I paid more for it than I had wanted to or planned on spending on a shredder- only because of the almost universal awesome ratings this was getting I assure you). I am a home user but I shred like a small office or home office as I shred all my own paper plus donated paper from school and a friend or two for gardening and composting purposes.
I am pleased as punch.
"
Response from Fellowes:By ASCSAugust 8, 2014
Dear Windchyme,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It sounds like your new 460Ms shredder is just perfect for your needs.

Thank you for choosing Fellowes.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Impressive"
Date:March 25, 2013
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2013
Written By:Skipper
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Legal
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Mess Reduction
" This is an impressive machine and fits my requirements! "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Highly recommended"
Date:August 29, 2012
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2012
Written By:NBers
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
Cons: Mess Reduction
" We have gone through several shredders over the past but they either jammed all the time or broke after several months. We have had this shredder for 4 months now and have not have one single problem. We love the fact that it is super quiet and shreds almost everything and it has never jammed. In fact after 1 month of use, we bought a second on!! Highly recommended. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Wow, ugh, eww."
Date:July 30, 2012
User Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style & Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2012
Written By:Upsetcustomer
Performance and Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jam Resistance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Safe Operation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style & Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: Warranty, Sheet Capacity, Service Guarantee, Mess Reduction, Secure Cut Size, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Jam Resistance, everything
" HORRIBLE, jams easy, does not even shred the 10 sheets that were mentioned. Don't buy it. Please. Go out and buy something useful like Tylenol, or Green Tea. This is seriously the worst purchase I have ever made. I threw a party for my friends and I when I threw out the shredder. My whole city celbrated the death of my shredder. I'm done. "
Response from Fellowes:By cfcustomer reviewsJuly 31, 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to review your MS460Cs shredder. We are sorry to hear that you are having problems with the shredder, but appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of the problem. We would like to offer some insight into what may be causing the issue you are experiencing.



Typically, when a unit is not shredding to capacity, it indicates that the blades need to be oiled. Since this is a micro shred unit, it requires oiling every ½ basketful or full basketful in order for the unit to shred at peak performance. In addition, less capacity may also indicate that some adhesive has been put through the unit (i.e. labels, envelopes, post-its, etc.). Once this type of material adheres to the blades, it will cut down on sheet capacity and will eventually cause the unit to fail completely. We mention this as a matter of education in the event that someone has been shredding this type of material.



If you still have the unit and you are under warranty, please call our consumer line. We would appreciate the opportunity to further assist you. 1.800.945.4545, Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. CST

+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Purchase"
Date:February 3, 2012
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2012
Written By:rangercons
Location:Small Office (5-50 employees)
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Performance and Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style & Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" This shredder is so quiet and quick. Would recommend to others! "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Shredder"
Date:October 21, 2011
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2011
Written By:Saints
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance
" So far we are loving the shredder. It is so quiet compared to our previous shredder and it is really nice to have the safety sensor on it. We have not had any jam issues as of yet and we love the security feature of the tiny shredding. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"fellowes MS450cs paper shredder"
Date:September 19, 2011
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011
Written By:zidie
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, attractive appearance
" I will write a review after I have used it for a while "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Shredding Workhorse"
Date:September 5, 2011
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2011
Written By:Klieg
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Service Guarantee, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction
" I'm not a young spit anymore and have eaten my share of shredders. This one has broken the mold for me. I studied long and hard before selecting this machine and putting up the bounty for it. This is a selection process that has paid off. This thing is sturdy, reliable and thorough in its shredding job. Of course, I've learned throuhg the years to treat a shredder with respect and care; not asking it to do things I wouldn't do and keeping it well lubricated and cleaned. I can imagine I'll be shredding with this one for many years to come. Add to that the Micro Cut which is more protection than I could ask for. Thanks, Fellows. "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"VERY pleased!"
Date:August 21, 2011
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2011
Written By:karendh
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Healthcare
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Jam Resistance, Mess Reduction, shreds floppy disks too!
Cons: though comparable would prefer longer run time
" I just received my new Fellowes MS460Cs and I love it already. It is VERY quiet, much more so than any other shredders I've used. Having several old floppy disks to destroy, it has worked great on the ones I've done so far! On the paper side, the micro-cut residue is VERY small and a definite deterrent to identity theft. Bag liners for the residue container are much heavier weight than garbage bags I used in the old shredder and less likely to tear, reducing mess, too. VERY happy so far and would highly recommend this to anyone needing a heavy-duty shredder. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"High Quality Shredder"
Date:August 1, 2011
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2011
Written By:AntwonneIshkabibble
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Other
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Sheet Capacity, Quality Construction, Warranty, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Safety Features, Secure Cut Size, Mess Reduction
Cons: very small casters
" Excellent quality shredder with all the features that I was searching for. I only have one negative comment about this unit. That is, this is a very heavy shredder and the small casters (1.5 inches) on it make it somewhat difficult to move it around on a carpeted surface. I am sure that this would not be an issue on a hard surface floor, but it would have been more prudent for Fellowes if they had designed this unit with casters that were approximately 3.0-to-3.5 inches in diameter. Other than this one issue, this is a superior quality shredder. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powershred® 460Ms Micro-Cut Shredder
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good Shredder"
Date:March 4, 2011
User Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Written By:RalphT
Location:Home Office
Usage Pattern:Daily Use
Industry:Professional & Business Management
Performance and Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jam Resistance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe Operation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Quiet Operation, Quality Construction, Shreds Credit Cards, Staples and CDs, Secure Cut Size
" We use this in our home.....wanted a better product than dept store throw away unit......This is a very quiet machine and IMHO well worth the money. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.